We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goteborgs Vandrarhem
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Stockholm
1 review
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this place for just 2 days and three nights, with my parents. Hotel is nice; rooms are big and well-appointed with necessary things freeze, air conditioners, etc. Bathrooms were big and ventilated. Staff is efficient in every way and friendly. The kitchen is large and they offered my mother to cook, the way she likes. It was nice of them and I ate breakfast of my choice. We were welcomed by the smiling staff and check in went very smooth, although we reached 15 minutes earlier. I will visit this place once with my friends also

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
7
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hostel advertises as being located i central Gothenburg, but in reality it's only close to Liseberg (the amusement park).
The staff were unfriendly and rude.
Everything costs extra and if you happen to be there at a time when there is somekind of event och high season in Gothenburg, be sure to book everything in advance (even luggage storage for the day!)
The bathrooms were very dirty, damp and their ceilings even looked moldy.
We won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajsamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've just returned from a 2 day city break in Gothenburg. I had a tight budget so staying somewhere cheap yet relatively central was high on the agenda. I was also going to visit Liseberg Christmas Market and this youth hostel is literally a 5 minute walk from the Liseberg's South entrance. I also read the previous review of this youth hostel which noted that luggage couldn't be left there after check out, so made sure I took a backpack instead of a small carry-on suitcase to avoid having to trundle about with it the following day. I contacted the youth hostel in advance to check this particular issue, which is indeed the current position.
The youth hostel is easy to get to. Just take the No4 tram (direction Molndal) from the centre and get off at Getebergsang (which takes about 10 minutes), cross over to the right side of the road and walk about 300 yards - it does have a sign outside. The reception is lightly manned, and has limited opening hours so make sure you arrive during opening hours (check their website). To be fair I stayed there in December and it was almost empty. I paid 380 Kronar (About £38) for one night in the dormitory, with sheets and towel hire included. Breakfast would have been an extra 80 Kronar but I decided to have breakfast in a cafe downtown rather than at the youth hostel. As it turned out, I had an 8 bed dormitory all to myself which was a bonus. The room comprised of 4 bunk beds. The bed was rather hard because the mattress is a bit thin and it rests on a solid wooden slat underneath. The curtains were not black-out ones and because the area outside the window was completely illuminated by street lighting, the room was very light at night and I woke up quite frequently during the night as a result. If the youth hostel reads this review, I hope they take this recommendation on board as I did not have the best night sleep as a result.

The hostel has a dining area, kitchen, comfortable living area with a large screen television and its clean and warm. The bathrooms are clean, but tired looking and could do with a bit of an re-fit. You are given a card pass which is your entry to the youth hostel and your dorm room and the place felt quite secure. Its fine for a couple of nights but I probably wouldn't stay here for longer than that. The lady who worked there was very helpful and courteous and phoned Liseberg to check it was open that night as the weather was terrible (it was!). There is a supermarket nearby, but its a Netto one (if you're from the UK, Netto is similar to Aldi and Lidl) and has quite a limited selection of fresh food. Most of it comprises of dry foods and cakes galore. It was a handy place to buy some water, fruit juice and some headache tablets though. Overall, its a reasonable place to stay but I wouldn't really stay there for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the dormitory, bring some black-out eye shades with you as the room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronzevernis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

My friend and I decided to stay here because we were attending a concert at the Scandinavium which is in walking distance. The twin room was small but nice and very clean. Bathrooms were satisfactory and there were lots of them. The kitchen was nice and there was a nice lounge area next to it. The dining room was very nice, as nice as many restaurants. The breakfast was buffet style and was fine, depending on tastes. The coffee was excellent. The hostel was well located and a short tram ride from the bus/train terminals. I liked the hostel and the atmosphere was nice. My only complaint is the fact they do not permit you to leave your luggage for collection later, if you are checking out on a Sunday. I was there for a weekend and had lots planned for the Sunday. However, we had to drag our cases through the snow and where the snow was too deep, we had to carry them. Our flight didn't leave until 9.30 pm and it was a very long and tiring day, doing sightseeing in the snow, and dragging our cases behind us. I believe the hostel should inform people on their website that luggage cannot be left on Sundays, because if they had, I would have chosen another place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monty777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotell Kusten
Hotell Kusten
#59 of 67 in Gothenburg
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#53 of 67 in Gothenburg
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#56 of 67 in Gothenburg
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Panorama
Quality Hotel Panorama
#38 of 67 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goteborgs Vandrarhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goteborgs Vandrarhem

Property: Goteborgs Vandrarhem
Address: 23 Moelndalsvaegen, Gothenburg 412 63, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Goteborgs Vandrarhem 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Goteborgs Vandrarhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing