We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2007

I was in Gothenberg for a wedding (August 2003) and had no idea where to stay. The bride recommended this hotel due to the affordability. Turns out I would have paid triple for the experience! The staff was amazing... courteous, knowledgeable and always smiling and friendly; the continental breakfast was superb (don't know about dinner as we chanced different restaurants within 30 minutes walking distance). Given that it is a converted ship, it didn't reel and roll like a ship at all... just a slight list. The room was definately small but quiet, comfortable and restful. The bathrooms in the area I stayed were co-ed and shared (startling to this American but ample privacy indeed) and surprisingly clean. PLENTY to do and see within 30-40 minute walks (so much shopping!!). Looking for a nice, unusual place to stay for reasonable price without giving up comfort? Check it out!!

Stayed: August 2003
3  Thank mes70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 534 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2004

The Barken Viking is great value accommodation. Its only a five minute walk from a very large shopping centre, and around ten to fifteen minutes walk from the avenue (main tourist area).

The accommodation is clean and tidy, and the staff are very helpful. Don't be put off by the shared bathroom/shower facilities. During our stay I never saw any other guests while I was using the facilities.

Great value, and an overall fun stay.

4  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashland, Ohio
111
Reviewed July 6, 2004

Gothenberg is an unextected treat! We landed there because of an air fare deal, but loved the hotel, boat tour, Liseberg ( pronounced Lisa berry) and city.

The Barken Viking Hotel is a boat sitting in the harbor. We stayed in crew's quarters. That meant we shared the bath across the hall and a shower room . We never saw anyone else although the hotel was full. The boat is a former working vessel so not luxury, but very clean and fun. I watched the moon set over the harbor from our porthole .

A lovely breakfast is included. Our daughter needs a gluten free diet and they readily complied by bring ing out gluten free bread that was better than in the States. A very reasonable and excellent buffet is aviailable for lunch and dinner on the deck in good weather. There is free parking if you can manage to get there by car...it is a trick with the construction at present.

The hotel includes a free admission for one day to Liseberg. This is a low key pleasant amusement park. It suited our jet lag for the day. Cute shops, nice snacks and even a few rides. We went to the top of the needle and viewed the city.

Also fun were the indoor mall and Paladan boat trip of the canals and harbor. Both are within walking distance of the hotel. We do not recommend driving to anything. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel for about $40 for three of us. We later rented a car at Hertz in the train station for a special summer weekend rate :) and drove to Vaxjo for the Emmigrant Center. Watch out for invisible speed monitors on the highway. They take your picture and send it to the rental car place we heard. Go to Assedo Church...so beautiful as well as Tranemo Church and the castle ruins at Vaxjo. Be sure to be hungry and eat at the Castle Ruins tavern there...very quaint, excellent and take a boat ride around the lake. We stayed at Hotel Elilte..a great rate and breakfast too. Torpa Stenhous on the way back is lovely. It is near Boras. Nicke shops and a great lunch place on a pretty lake...great hiking/biking if you have one.

On our way back to Gothenberg we took a Steena Ferry to Freidrickshaven Denmark. It costs about $40 each person , takes 2 hours, and the hotel desk clerk can direct you to Steena. We recommend buying the ticket ahead and arriving 30 minutes ahead of departure time. This is a thouroughly delightful trip. We visited friends in Aalborg, but the coast if great too...try the west coast little towns. We then took the ferry back and stayed at the Viking and boarded the plane at the airport. You can return the car for no added cost to the airport.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Eindhoven, Holland
115
Reviewed February 9, 2003

I stayed there this weekend and it was a great stay. Only 500 kronar for a room for 2 persons with an excellent breakfast in a good decorated atmosphere.The rooms are small but cosy and the service of personnel is excellent. 5-10 minute walk to the real centre of the city. 5 minute walk to the centralstation.

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Försäljningschef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of one of our special rates.
We hope to welcoming you on board again soon.

Brgrds,

Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank linnvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vælg værelse ud mod vandet, væk fra molen og ikke lige under restauranten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Katrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riverton
Hotel Riverton
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: Lilla Bommens torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $96 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing