We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cosy and comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing cosy and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as family of 4, for 1 day/ 1 night at this lovely boutique hotel. It was an unique feeling staying in a large boat. All rooms are nice, well-maintained, cosy and comfortable. These rooms provide a good mix of enchanting vintage with contemporary utility value. Lovely location, 10minute walking from Gothenburg Central Station.
Very hospitable and warm staff.
Wished that the on-board restaurant was operational, though staff explained that it will start later this year.
Should there be an opportunity we will visit Barken Viking again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JayenShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    205
    60
    18
    4
See reviews for
69
180
73
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel that's out of the ordinary. It has quiet, modern rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. 5 minute walk into the city and tram/bus stops. If i was in Gothenburg again I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BackpackBugUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights on this converted sailing ship. It has just about all mod cons, except a wardrobe in our room. Living out of a suitcase is not nice on a long holiday.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, with an adequate bathroom. The only annoyance was that the WiFi only works properly in the lobby, despite us having room 200, right next to the lobby. Free tea and coffee in the lobby is a nice touch.

The restaurant is open only for breakfast, which is a reasonable Scandinavian type buffet with an outstanding dark grain bread.

The location is good, close to the opera house and tourist sight-seeing boats (which were not operating for us, as we were there before the main summer season). There are several restaurants within 5 or 10 minutes walk, including Goteborg Wok with a 4-1/2 TripAdvisor rating. One cautionary tale though: I was attacked by a couple of drug crazed gypsies(?) while out shooting night photos at about 11pm. They wanted my expensive camera, but wound up rather bruised by my tripod, which makes a handy defensive weapon. I got out of it with just a scratch, thanks to 3 or 4 passers by helping me.

I would go back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPLatManOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I like ships very much and I did enjoy my stay.
Staff is very friendly - nothing to complain.
Breakfast is very good - but if something needs to be refilled you should not be in a hurry as the single person in charge is not seen for long times due to several parallel tasks in the kitchen! (I helped myself by finding the milk in the fridge...)

The rooms/cabins are very small and provide almost no storage (no closet or anything).
There are a few hangers and coat hooks - that's it. Business suits and shirts for a week are a challenge to organize, not to speak of the rest of the suit case's content.
I did like the rooms even though they are small and old. I felt quite comfortable inside.
If 2 people share a room then I believe this is a huge challenge for organizing personal things, especially in the bathroom where only very limited space is given.

If you have a room underneath the restaurant/kitchen (applies for most of the rooms) then it is extremely noisy in the early mornings (breakfast) or in the evenings when there is a party or an event.

What I missed most is the real feeling of being on a ship. Unfortunately there was no access to the upper deck. Only reception, rooms, breakfast.
Therefor it became an ordinary hotel - just much smaller and older.

The location is very good. The ferry to the other side of the river is a 30 seconds walk.
The city center with better restaurants is a 10 minutes walk.

If the price is around 100 Euro/night then it is reasonable.
But if it is more than 120 Euro/night then it is totally overprized.

It was fun to try it out once.
But since it does not provide the real ship-feeling I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wassermaennchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Really nice and authentic. However we got a room with 2 single beds, so pay attention to what your reservation says cause you can't move the beds so you can sleep next to each other.
Breakfast ok. Nothing fancy.
But atmosphere is great and you can also go up to the upper deck and walk around up there. Recommended.
Nice staff.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind Review.

We hope to see you soon again at Barken Viking.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiseau-Presles, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just a great experience ! Location is excellent. Not far from the bus station, the city center, Nordstan. Walking distance from good restaurants, museums, shops. The only bad surprise : the Barken Viking restaurant was closed !

Room Tip: Spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JackieJulianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
It is unfortunate that you did not receive the information about the temporarily closure of the restaurant, due to renovation, which is displayed on the homepage as well as major booking channel.

Please contact me at emanuele@esshotell.se so that we can update this information in the booking channel you used.

Looking forward to see you soon again at Barken Viking,

Emanuele & Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asgardstrand, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The reception staff was super friendly, and the hotel has a solid maritime cozy environment. I look forward to try out the Barken Viking again during summer. The location is close to city center and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room pointing to the river to really experience maritime living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trond Vidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We hope to see you soon again on board Barken Viking.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing