We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a wonderful way to spend a night in Göteborg! The hotel is walking distance from the main station and very easy to find along the harbour. It is big and beautiful so you can't miss it :) Our room was spacious, shower warm and our bed comfortable; all meant a great night sleep. The staff welcomed us warmly and suggested places for us to visit. Breakfast was good and it was a fantastic continental spread. Try the smoke salmon, it was so delicious! I can't justify giving this hotel any rating under 5 but would like to suggest coffee and tea should be available in rooms. I understand why they wouldn't want kettles in the rooms but surely the same Thermos used in the lobby could be placed in the rooms. I think this would be an excellent idea. Coffee and tea in the lobby is a nice option but I would have preferred having a hot drink in bed. No evening restaurant but lots to explore in the city ;)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sue-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barken Viking.
Your suggestion of tea/coffe facility in the room is interesting and I promise to look into it.
By the way, we have plans to refurbish the restaurant and have it opened for dinner.
We look forward to have you among our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Barken Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night while travelling through and were very pleased. Rooms were comfortable and cosy. Staff were very friendly and happy to help with supper recommendations. And it's something a bit different to be staying on such a beautiful old ship!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank monarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you!

We are realy pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barken Viking.
Looking forard to welvoming you "on board" again soon,

Sincerely

Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here for one night: 11JAN14. From the airport I took the Flygbussana direct to the Shopping centre, and from there the hotel is a 5 minute walk max, directly out the end of the shopping centre towards to water. If you get lost there is an information desk in the shopping centre (with maps).
I found the hotel very easy to find.
I loved the fact that is is a ship. It was a great exprience.
The interior was amazing, with small sitting rooms in a few areas if you wanted some privacy. Tea and coffee on supply in the reception/ lounge area.
My room was very clean, the bed was so comfortable and a big TV was mounted to the wall if you just want to spend an hour or so relaxing before bed. I had 2 port-holes to look out of too, which just added to the ship feel.
The staff were lovely, and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhiannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank You!
It is so warming to hear that you really loved our Barken Viking.
We do it too!!
Looking forward to welcome you "on board" our hotel again soon.

Truly,
Emanuele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I'm always looking for different places to stay, and this option was fun and very cost effective for Sweden. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main station in Gothenburg, and is located in the water beside the wharf actually! The hotel has a maritime theme, which obviously is a bit dated but adds to the atmosphere. Check in staff was lovely and the room was just down the hallway in the bow. Two single beds and portholes. Was there on a cold winter's night but the heating in the room did the trick and the wifi was very good too (and free). Would stay here again for the fun of it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you!

Did you know that Barken Viking has an amazing history? After years of sailing around the world, this beautiful windjammer was the restored into a charming hotel in 1907 and moored at
Gothenburg’s Gullbergskajen Quay granting great views of the waterfront and only 5 minute walk from Nordstan Shopping Center and Gothenburg Central Train Station.

The bright rooms at Hotel Barken Viking feature wood paneled walls and original work by marine artist Franz Glatzl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Its fun to stay in a room that is not square or flat ! Well appointed rooms, compact and efficient bathroom. Nice staff and lobby area. Good location for city centre visit. Have stayed a few times, different room each time, and they are all fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junkbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Great to hear!
We are pleased to understand that your stays at Barken Viking have lived up to your and our expectations.

Welcome back soon!

Emanuele & staff at Barken viking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night during our travels to Gothenburg. Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. The room itself was a bit quirky - I think we may have had the handicapped room. Great breakfast, especially considering how much we would have paid for any kind of breakfast off the boat.

Overall highly recommended.

Minus 1 star for two things:
1) Location was good, though other hotels would be slightly better.
2) There was an (unneeded, unrequested) cot in our room that took up about 1/3 of the open space. When asked the front desk sort of shrugged and suggested maybe we should fold it and place in the corner of the room. In my opinion an odd response - why not remove it? Still, I didn't press because we didn't really care.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skaaght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I apolozige for the incident occurred with the unrequested extra bed in the room.
We have failed giving you excellent service and this is not the way we want it to be.

Looking forward to have you among our guests again soon.

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We couldn't resist the chance to stay on a ship and we were pleased with the entire experience. Our room (304) had a water view, with two portholes. The room was large enough, very clean and comfortably furnished, including terrycloth robes. The bathroom was clean, the shower good. There was a very large choice of foods for breakfast and the dining room is beautiful. We went up on deck at night to take pictures-it was windy, just as it should be on a ship. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located-we walked from the train station. This will be our place to stay next time we get to Gothenburg!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emanuele F, Chef at Hotell Barken Viking, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you!

We hope to see you again soon "On Board" Barken Viking!

Sincerely,

Emanuele & Staff at Barken Viking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $100 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing