We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boat Hotel, Very Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Originally booked only 1 night but was so delighted I extended to 3 nights. Commercial sailing vessel converted to hotel with business-class standards at tourist prices. Comfortable room, TV, Internet, phone, desk. The rooms and bathrooms are not overly large but nice size for a boat and quite nice. As there are few rooms, you can get in and out quickly and you are right next to the river, Opera House, major shopping center, tram stops, train station. Nice breakfast included in room price. Friendly, responsive staff. Hope I can stay again sometime.

Room Tip: I saw several rooms and all looked nice. If you have a preference for city view vs. river view, let...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Barken Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 517 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

The novelty of staying on this boat is great fun. The rooms aren't huge, but they are decked out in a nautical theme which was cute. Short walk with light luggage from the train station. And a short walk in the heart of the city. Good value for money. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This amazing vessel is a sure way to make your "hotel stay" different. The sailing ship was built in 1907 and conserves the look of that era. Like taking a step in the past, especially for that after dinner cap in the bar with dim lights and good old jazz music.
Service is good, the breakfast buffet in the morning is very good and if you are not too fussy, all in all and for the price, its enjoyable.
The downside is that it can get a bit noisy at night as the structure is not exactly sound proof. Ask for rooms that are not directly under the main deck. You are better off towards the back.
One of the best features of the Viking is the location. It is right next to the train and bus station and in walking distance of many interesting visiting sites. Situated next to the Opera House and in a nice marina, you also have the option of the Hop On Hop Off boats which is a great way to visit very lovely Gothenburg. It was a positive experience and the vessel is quite beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaW0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Risto R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ship hotel was interesting place to stay and see it's old and different than other hotels. There is also restaurant. But after all the service was not the best because we asked a room for 2 nights and at the reception woman told us yes there is room available for us for 2 nights and later she told us there was just 1 room left for 1 night! so we had to stay in another expensive hotel because of her mistake and this is not good service for tourists but I don't know if the woman was just summer season worker and maybe she didn't knew enough about reception work. I haven't never had this experience anywhere else even I have been around the Europe now 4 months.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seatraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lander S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $104 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing