We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Risto R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    205
    59
    18
    4
See reviews for
69
180
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ship hotel was interesting place to stay and see it's old and different than other hotels. There is also restaurant. But after all the service was not the best because we asked a room for 2 nights and at the reception woman told us yes there is room available for us for 2 nights and later she told us there was just 1 room left for 1 night! so we had to stay in another expensive hotel because of her mistake and this is not good service for tourists but I don't know if the woman was just summer season worker and maybe she didn't knew enough about reception work. I haven't never had this experience anywhere else even I have been around the Europe now 4 months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seatraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
346 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel has just undergone an owner change...we stayed 2 nights in a "Family Room" which slept 4 in sailor bunk beds. We were tight in the space but actually in the 2 rooms, it had more rooms than other hotels we've stayed in. The children absolutely loved it! The room was clean and decorated in wooden sailor style...flat screen TV and 4 waters (carbonated) to drink when we arrived. The shower was fine and the bathroom very clean and new.
Breakfast was at 6:30 and full of meats/cheeses to eat. We loved the fresh baked breads and the Swedish jams...vanilla yogurt and cereals. Note that the sodas in the case behind the desk are extra (not included in the breakfast), so we had to pay for them at the check out.
You can walk back to see where the Captain would have slept/eaten and what his accommodations were like, which was fun to see.
The reception desk was extremely friendly and helpful. They emailed and were available by email to book the reservation and email you confirmations almost immediately, which is smart. When we arrived, they were most accommodating and helpful to us, calling taxis for us and offering to allow us to get our boarding passes behind the desk with them, on their computer/printer. It was a fun stay, and the kids really enjoyed it! A special experience.

Room Tip: There are only about 30 rooms in the whole ship, so if they are all the same, (like ours in room #21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed on the ship for 2 nights. Overall a very enjoyable experience. My cabin was very comfortable - I had a twin, and although a little small, this was expected due to be being located onboard a ship. There is a lovely quiet guests lounge where you can sit away from your cabin and make use of the free Wifi. I wished that there was tea making facilities in the rooms, but the reception provided me with a pot of tea when I asked, free of charge. Breakfast is nice but fairly simple. Overall, somewhere to try if you want a break from the faceless multinational hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware, in March, the restaurant is not open on a Monday evening - but town is no more than a 5 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno
Level Contributor
178 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was sailing ship and it's converted for hotel and small restaurant. It is located near harbour. Be prepared for using shared bathrooms. Cabin costs for two person about 1600 Skr, but for sure it is worth it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing