We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed on the ship for 2 nights. Overall a very enjoyable experience. My cabin was very comfortable - I had a twin, and although a little small, this was expected due to be being located onboard a ship. There is a lovely quiet guests lounge where you can sit away from your cabin and make use of the free Wifi. I wished that there was tea making facilities in the rooms, but the reception provided me with a pot of tea when I asked, free of charge. Breakfast is nice but fairly simple. Overall, somewhere to try if you want a break from the faceless multinational hotels.

Room Tip: Be aware, in March, the restaurant is not open on a Monday evening - but town is no more than a 5 mi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Barken Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 517 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was sailing ship and it's converted for hotel and small restaurant. It is located near harbour. Be prepared for using shared bathrooms. Cabin costs for two person about 1600 Skr, but for sure it is worth it

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is relatively close to the train station. It was an easy walk even while carrying luggage. It was a really unique place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a great breakfast buffet in the morning that included an extensive selection of hot and cold dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wigs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a well run and beautiful hotel, conveniently located downtown (erm....on the river!) near the Opera House and Casino.

I had worried about it being cold, but there was no need to worry. Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesshakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We emailed this hotel the day before our visit to find the directions from the railway station. We received a prompt reply which told us to go into the shopping mall right in front of the station, walk into the middle, turn right, go to the end and go across the glass bridge. You will see the hotel in front of you. The rooms contained twin beds and a compact bathroom with a shower. As our room was close to the bow of the ship, the floor sloped slightly. This was not a problem. It added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was a typical European one: scrambled and boiled eggs, cereals and a variety of cold meats, cheeses and breads. The reception staff was friendly, helping with wifi problems for a novice and finding the address of a shop in Stockholm that stocked a brand of children's clothing that was designed in Gothenberg but which we were unable to get as little stores are shut on Sundays. This hotel is so close to the mall where there are plenty of places to eat and where the shops are open on Sundays. This hotel is a great place for children judging by the delighted looks on the faces of those we saw staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

All in all my husband and I had a lovely two night stay at this hotel. The breakfast was lovely. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. However , we were in the city when it was very warm and sunny and when we wanted to rest and have an afternoon drink we found we were unable to go up onto the deck area. This was very unfortunate. Having the deck was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. We wanted to enjoy the scenery from the deck and instead found we had to sit in our room with our drink !
We mentioned this as we were leaving on Sunday but the receptionist simply said that she would alter the web site so it said the deck was not available. I checked tonight and it still says there is a deck area for drinks and eating. There is no access to the deck until the end of June.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 which looked out over the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dunk5pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a 1920's ship turned into a hotel just minutes walk from the Goteborg Central Train/Bus Station and Nordstan. We were the only guest for our one night stay. Room is clean, well appointed, small (as expected) with a porthole window. Breakfast was served. This is a refreshing change if you are tired of same-old, same-old hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $108 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing