We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun to stay on this beautiful ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a well run and beautiful hotel, conveniently located downtown (erm....on the river!) near the Opera House and Casino.

I had worried about it being cold, but there was no need to worry. Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesshakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 526 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We emailed this hotel the day before our visit to find the directions from the railway station. We received a prompt reply which told us to go into the shopping mall right in front of the station, walk into the middle, turn right, go to the end and go across the glass bridge. You will see the hotel in front of you. The rooms contained twin beds and a compact bathroom with a shower. As our room was close to the bow of the ship, the floor sloped slightly. This was not a problem. It added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was a typical European one: scrambled and boiled eggs, cereals and a variety of cold meats, cheeses and breads. The reception staff was friendly, helping with wifi problems for a novice and finding the address of a shop in Stockholm that stocked a brand of children's clothing that was designed in Gothenberg but which we were unable to get as little stores are shut on Sundays. This hotel is so close to the mall where there are plenty of places to eat and where the shops are open on Sundays. This hotel is a great place for children judging by the delighted looks on the faces of those we saw staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

All in all my husband and I had a lovely two night stay at this hotel. The breakfast was lovely. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. However , we were in the city when it was very warm and sunny and when we wanted to rest and have an afternoon drink we found we were unable to go up onto the deck area. This was very unfortunate. Having the deck was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. We wanted to enjoy the scenery from the deck and instead found we had to sit in our room with our drink !
We mentioned this as we were leaving on Sunday but the receptionist simply said that she would alter the web site so it said the deck was not available. I checked tonight and it still says there is a deck area for drinks and eating. There is no access to the deck until the end of June.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 which looked out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dunk5pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a 1920's ship turned into a hotel just minutes walk from the Goteborg Central Train/Bus Station and Nordstan. We were the only guest for our one night stay. Room is clean, well appointed, small (as expected) with a porthole window. Breakfast was served. This is a refreshing change if you are tired of same-old, same-old hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Took my family with me on a business trip to Gothenburg. Thought the kids would like sleeping on a ship. Kids loved it, and so did I. Good service, nice rooms. Okay breakfast. And great location. I have stayed here several times before, and I like it because it is a little different (yet same good service) from other regular hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I traveled to Sweden with a good friend of mine, and because of the uniqueness and history of the Barken Viking, we decided to splurge and stay on the ship for our last night in Sweden. It was one of the best decisions I made on this trip and was a great way to end a great vacation. The staff was very helpful and courteous, the room was very clean and comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was exemplary. I felt the cost of the room was well worth it, and very reasonable for the accommodations. If I am lucky enough to make it back to Sweden, I am definitely staying on the Barken Viking again— it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Different type of hotel to stay in, thoroughly enjoyable with very helpful reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lestroispigeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,037 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Address: Lilla Bommens torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $106 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing