We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun to stay on this beautiful ship”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Barken Viking
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Fun to stay on this beautiful ship”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a well run and beautiful hotel, conveniently located downtown (erm....on the river!) near the Opera House and Casino.

I had worried about it being cold, but there was no need to worry. Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesshakout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    205
    59
    18
    4
See reviews for
69
180
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We emailed this hotel the day before our visit to find the directions from the railway station. We received a prompt reply which told us to go into the shopping mall right in front of the station, walk into the middle, turn right, go to the end and go across the glass bridge. You will see the hotel in front of you. The rooms contained twin beds and a compact bathroom with a shower. As our room was close to the bow of the ship, the floor sloped slightly. This was not a problem. It added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was a typical European one: scrambled and boiled eggs, cereals and a variety of cold meats, cheeses and breads. The reception staff was friendly, helping with wifi problems for a novice and finding the address of a shop in Stockholm that stocked a brand of children's clothing that was designed in Gothenberg but which we were unable to get as little stores are shut on Sundays. This hotel is so close to the mall where there are plenty of places to eat and where the shops are open on Sundays. This hotel is a great place for children judging by the delighted looks on the faces of those we saw staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhondaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

All in all my husband and I had a lovely two night stay at this hotel. The breakfast was lovely. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. However , we were in the city when it was very warm and sunny and when we wanted to rest and have an afternoon drink we found we were unable to go up onto the deck area. This was very unfortunate. Having the deck was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. We wanted to enjoy the scenery from the deck and instead found we had to sit in our room with our drink !
We mentioned this as we were leaving on Sunday but the receptionist simply said that she would alter the web site so it said the deck was not available. I checked tonight and it still says there is a deck area for drinks and eating. There is no access to the deck until the end of June.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 which looked out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dunk5pin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a 1920's ship turned into a hotel just minutes walk from the Goteborg Central Train/Bus Station and Nordstan. We were the only guest for our one night stay. Room is clean, well appointed, small (as expected) with a porthole window. Breakfast was served. This is a refreshing change if you are tired of same-old, same-old hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Took my family with me on a business trip to Gothenburg. Thought the kids would like sleeping on a ship. Kids loved it, and so did I. Good service, nice rooms. Okay breakfast. And great location. I have stayed here several times before, and I like it because it is a little different (yet same good service) from other regular hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samuelwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I traveled to Sweden with a good friend of mine, and because of the uniqueness and history of the Barken Viking, we decided to splurge and stay on the ship for our last night in Sweden. It was one of the best decisions I made on this trip and was a great way to end a great vacation. The staff was very helpful and courteous, the room was very clean and comfortable, the food was delicious, and the service was exemplary. I felt the cost of the room was well worth it, and very reasonable for the accommodations. If I am lucky enough to make it back to Sweden, I am definitely staying on the Barken Viking again— it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Different type of hotel to stay in, thoroughly enjoyable with very helpful reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lestroispigeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Barken Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Barken Viking

Property: Hotell Barken Viking
Address: 10 Lilla Bommens Torg, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#16 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Barken Viking 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotell Barken Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Liseberg Barken Viking Hotel Gothenburg
Hotell Barken Viking Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing