We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for Money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vasa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vasa
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
tokyo, jaa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I stayed in this hotel while attending a conference in Gothenburg , Sweden. The hotel is located close to the convention center. There are many nice restaurants nearby to have some good food of all flavours. It is also located close to the station.
The staff was friendly and the room was small but comfortable.
There are some nice sight seeing areas nearby.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geniusvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
19
37
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed there July 8-11, 2010 while attending meetings at the nearby University. The staff was laid-back, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. My room (207) was a good-sized single overlooking the courtyard. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite bathroom spotless. My only complaint is that the big curtains need to be completely drawn in order to block out the light (only about 3 hours of "darkness" in the summer), but doing so also prevents any sort of breeze from entering the room. My only other concern was when I asked them to keep my passport at the front desk. They looked a bit confused, but agreed. The day before checkout, I asked for it back and they removed it from under the tray in the cash register, which was a little strange to me.

The breakfast was standard European fare, and the bread was piping hot. The location is terrific - a 5 minute walk to the university, a10-15 walk to the city center, and less than 30 minute walk to the Liseberg Amusement Park (not to be missed). Trams to all parts of the city abound nearby.

All in all, I would certainly stay again at this nice hotel in the beautiful city of Gothenberg.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel for 1 night. The room was ok and clean, but the view was not that good since it was not located at the front of the building.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I spent three nights here in November and had a fantastic time. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the shopping and virtually every place a tourist will want to visit. The breakfast was good, with gluten-free option. There is a sauna in the hotel that everyone staying there can use. Just ask the reception and they will arrange everything. There is a good internet connection, but if you dont have a laptop you can use the PC they have in the lounge. Internet access and other extras were all excellent, but really it is the staff who take centre stage for their friendly and extremely helpful manner.
Our room was at the back of the hotel, so we didnt hear any noise, but there is a tram line at the front, so I suppose it could be a bit noisy during the summer time.
A fantastic hotel considering the price, the rooms were perfectly acceptable (although the walls are a little thin). The bathroom was ok and clean.
We would certainly return there on our next visit to the city.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oabsinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

It's not cheap. It doesn't look clean. It doesn't smell fresh. Most importantly, it's not quiet.

The staff were delightful, worthy of pins, prizes, plush toys, but, to me, the room and location are more important. The hotel is located really close to the university and Hagas, but it's also located on the tramline. The trams don't stop till late and start before the sun rises. Sheep counting and sleeping with a pillow over the head or as far as possible from the windows, like by the door, will not work for light sleepers.

If a good night sleep is not essential, then you might consider Hotel Vasa.

All the best.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank transit_tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

The service and location are fantastic. Ask for a room not facing the road- too noisy, especially if you are tempted to open the window. I don't think I have been in a hotel with such genuinely attentive staff- and also willing to help out with any questions. The rooms could do with some work, but really, for the price and location would be hard to do better.

  • Liked — service on front desk
  • Disliked — noisy rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ange08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Oh, boy! I can’t really believe to find Vasa top ranked at Tripadvisor. It must me something wrong, or else Gothenburg has got some serious hotel issues. I can agree with the staffs mild and tender welcoming, but the hotel it self is a mess. I felt dirty. I couldn’t really relax. No way I will return to Vasa. I rather pay a couple of hundreds extra to stay at Avalon. Thats my kind of place.

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — The shabbyness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevlange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#31 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#53 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#65 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vasa

Property: Hotel Vasa
Address: 6 Viktoriagatan, Gothenburg 411 25, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vasa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Gothenburg at Hotel Vasa This family-run, Gothenburg hotel is in between the Haga District and the Avenyn shopping street. It offers free Wi-Fi and free coffee, tea and cake in the lobby all day. Satellite TV, private bathrooms and individual decor are standard features at Hotel Vasa - Sweden Hotels. The breakfast buffet can be enjoyed indoors or on the hotel's cozy patio, during warm months. Guests can also enjoy free access to a relaxing sauna. The staff can help arrange bike rentals or book local restaurants. Hotel Vasa is just around the corner from Vasa Viktoriagatan Tram Stop. Gothenburg Central Station is an 8 minute ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Vasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasa Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing