We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Goteborg!”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The Hotel has an enviable position in the city centre; infact it is near the “Avenyn” (about 3-5 minute on foot), the main shopping street in Goteborg, and the Haga area (very picturesque with its coloured houses and nice café). Nearby the Hotel there are many restaurants, a supermarket (Hemkop, in Vasagatan) and the tram stop. The area is very safe, even if the night club in front of the hotel is noisy until 2 am (so if you are in a room with the window in the street you should stand the noise!). I and my husband stayed here for 2 night in August 2010 and we booked a double the room by the hotel website, but when we arrived at the hotel they gave us a twin room, so we complained and demanded a double room (as we order); the girl at the reception didn’t want to change us the room, but when we showed her the e-mail print she had to change us the room! The second day, when we came back to the hotel in the evening we found the same towel of the day before (they didn’t change us them!), so we asked for clean towels, and the girl at the reception sent them in the elevator (but directly on the floor!...very dirty…). In that Hotel you must have breakfast in the price of the night, so we had breakfast for 2 morning: the food was of low quality and with limited choice and forks, knifes and glasses were dirty! Moreover the room hasn’t an air conditioner, so it’s very hot! The room furniture was essential. However the hotel has a computer for guest in the small hall, so you can use free internet and print documents if you need.
Finally I suggest this hotel to stay in Goteborg for 1 or 2 nights (because of its position), but the price is too expensive for the service they provide (but I think that it’s because you’re in Sweden!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaPneum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

If you are looking for a less expensive hotel with a great location and wonderful staff you should check out Hotel Poseidon. If you want a large room, with marble countertops, and amenities, then this is not the place to stay. The staff is great. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are quite small (European style and maybe a little smaller than that), and are not updated, but very clean. The beds are small, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFGWGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The Hotel Poseidon should have a higher rating, and extra points for friendliness & location. I stayed for four nights, and it was splendid.
This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The staff and owners were attentive and friendly. The room I received was brilliant, warmly furnished, very clean and had an excellent (and unexpected) balcony. The breakfast was quite good, everything was perfect. Thank you Poseidon, you made my visit to Goteborg very,very memorable. When I come back I want the very same room and again, I appreciate the wonderful attention to detail, and the warm. welcoming manner. The internet was also very reliable. (That was so helpful to check-in with home and work mail, etc. A big plus to have a strong net connection!) I certainly intend to come back and will recommend your fine hotel to my colleagues, family and friends. The only thing lacking was a mini-fridge, which would be a handy and practical addition to the room.
This is the way a hotel should be. Warm and inviting, safe, clean and comfortable! The central Goteborg location is ideal for shopping, dining and museums. I was able to walk practically everywhere, though public transport is very near. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datkat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

just spent a 2 night stay in Gothenburg, The Poseidon was chosen due to its location and price, we were all very pleased with it, only the poor breakfast let it down, but it was a typical Continental affair, so nothing that wasn't expected. the room was clean and tidy with a well maintained en suit. All the staff we encountered [at all times of the day & night] were always very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankpugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

This is a lovely small hotel, centrally located, with its own charm and character. I really liked the size and decoration of the room (I had a single with a queen-size bed). Although the decor could use some renovation (the carpets were not fresh). Checking in and out was easy and fast, the receptionist was polite and very helpful. Free wi-fi in the room was great. They also have tea/coffee making facilities near the reception - so you can have a cup of tea whenever you wish, free of charge. Couldn't complain about the noise, it was quiet outside (although my observations are pretty fragmentary as I stayed there for only one night). The only thing I found disappointing was the freshness of the towels. They were clean of course but they hadn't been dried properly - which gave them this musty-ish smell. But for the rest the room and bathroom were clean and kept nicely. Breakfast was alright, good choice. To sum it up, the hotel is a great value for money, nice place to stay as a tourist or when travelling on business.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medialla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Poseidon for a couple of nights in September while in Gothenburg on business - and it was great.
The room was small but comfortable, clean and predictably stylish - the staff were excellent and super-helpful and the location was perfect - 5 minutes walk from all the action for shopping, eating and nightlife.
Very good - not the Four Seasons, but the Swedish have a word that has no direct translation into English - the nearest thing is 'just right'. It fits a lot in Sweden, and it fits this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing