We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff, clean with a nice breakfast buffe.”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff, clean with a nice breakfast buffe.”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very helpfull people in the reception, gave us suggestion of restaurants etc . A small cosy hotel with a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaHelena59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    103
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
57
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Was only in Gothenburg for one night and spent most of that partying but the coffee and cake they gave me upon arrival was really cool and the free wi-fi was helpful. It's a great central location for getting around and there's a really cool four-floor club just down the road. Did the job.

Room Tip: There are single bedrooms and if you're out partying, this is all you really need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raziqrauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We managed to book the wrong date and came on the day we were supposed to check out. But the excellent staff at the poseidon hotel gave us the same room we had book without having to pay fore the wrong booking. The hotel is n the city center with walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Akkarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed at Poseidon in April for a weekend. The location is great, it's "in the middle of everything", so we were able to walk everywhere, no need to take a bus, tram or taxi. Also close enough to airport bus stop.

The hotel is situated on a smaller side street, so it was quiet there and still all restaurants, shops etc were so close when you needed them.

For it's price level the hotel would reserve four stars, but I drop my stars to three because of a little bit small and very cold bathroom. Maybe the reason for that was extremely cold April.

The room was nice and spotlessly clean, good bed, wireless free wifi worked fine all over the hotel, the service was very friendly and the good breakfast was included in the room. If I return to Göteborg, I could very wel stay at Poseidon again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaijaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Thank you for this wondafull stay.
Very central hotel, near everything, good service, fantastic.
Will recomend this hotel to all my friends.
Thank you I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Small hotel close to the city centre. Friendly reception. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable with showers. Good breakfast room. Free wi-fi,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have been several times in the Poseidon during last years.
Extremely friendly and efficient staff and howners are always available to fulfill our needs.Large and comfortable rooms.Excellent breakfast.
I'm going back for a week in the end of February 2012 and i'm looking very much forward.
The only thing is that in the beautiful Göthenbourg is -9 and from where i'm going (Madeirs Island in Portugal) is +19mº.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vanilla
Hotel Vanilla
#44 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Property: Hotel Poseidon
Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing