We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable”
Review of Hotel Poseidon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Thank you for this wondafull stay.
Very central hotel, near everything, good service, fantastic.
Will recomend this hotel to all my friends.
Thank you I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 218 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

Small hotel close to the city centre. Friendly reception. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable with showers. Good breakfast room. Free wi-fi,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have been several times in the Poseidon during last years.
Extremely friendly and efficient staff and howners are always available to fulfill our needs.Large and comfortable rooms.Excellent breakfast.
I'm going back for a week in the end of February 2012 and i'm looking very much forward.
The only thing is that in the beautiful Göthenbourg is -9 and from where i'm going (Madeirs Island in Portugal) is +19mº.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is a perfect characteful retreat quite near the center of Gothenburg. I was warmly welcomed despite and early arrival and my bags cheerfully stored while I went to explore. It is an older family-owned place, which makes it warm and comfy, but not terribly trendy or boutiquish. I had a single room on an upper floor, which was extremely comfortable, clean and excellent value for money. Internet was free and fast. Included breakfast was plentiful with excellent coffee. Really a model for what a three-star city hotel should be, with the local character giving it a nice ambiance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I were in Scandinavia in late August. Our stop in Gothenburg was memorable for several reasons, one of which was our pleasant stay at Hotel Poseidon. The location is ideal -- a 12-15 minute walk to anywhere, or so they say. Seriously, it's a short walk to major restaurants, sightseeing and shopping and the buildings along the street are all lovely historic structures. The hotel is family run; our interactions were mainly with the 20-30-something son, who is incredibly helpful and the perfect greeter, host and efficient repairman. He's a wonderful asset to the family business. The hotel prices were reasonable; the breakfasts huge and varied; and the rooms are older -- befitting the age of the building -- but modernized, complete with heated tile floors in the bathroom and wifi. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Traveler161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Nicely located close to the main street: Avenyen. About 6 min walk. In general a nice and cozy hotel, with interior from the early 80s. Nice and helpfull staff. Cheap basic food and beer at the reception area. The breakfast was traditional swedish buffet with swedish meatballs and scrambeled eggs, in addition to a wide range of jams, cheese and ham. Warm bread. Different types of cereal. juice, milk, coffe, tea all the basics. The hotel lies in a calm area. Nothing fancy, but well worth the money. There is a lot of nice restaurants close by, especially a restaurant called: Jalla Jalla, Mediterranean food. The food is good. We we´re there on a friday night, a bit crowded and the food took over 30 min.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a good 3 star hotel. The location is great, not far from the train station and just a few blocks from city centre. Our room was nice, comfortable and very clean. We stayed for two nights and for us it was a perfect hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good, everything fresh and delicious. They have coffee and tea facilities at the lobby and free wi-fi. It is a great choice if you are looking for a good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianagazolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vasa
Hotel Vasa
#52 of 67 in Gothenburg
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon

Address: Storgatan 33, Gothenburg 411 38, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poseidon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Poseidon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing