We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy and good central location”
Review of Scandic No. 25

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic No. 25
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in October 2012, very good welcome, room was big, nice and clean, found 2 pairs of sleepers and 2 bathrobes. Since there was a problem with the heaters I asked to change room and I have been moved to another room a bit smaller than the one I had, but nice and with a balcony. The hotel is along the track and centrally located, just an advice if you are sensitive to noises while sleeping, ask for a room on the other side of the rail. Breakfast is really super!! For sure I will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the rail
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraBenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Scandic No. 25
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 613 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here alone in November 2012. It is very easy to find from station and from bus stop where you are dropped on shuttle from airport. I would agree with reviews that rooms are quite small, but mine was clean, modern and had no problem with it. It does over look railway but as it was cold I didn't have window open and dd not hear the trains at all.

The breakfast was very good with a selection and I found the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is located 500 meters from Gothenburg central Station - along the railway track. Any train - and numerous trams that come into Gothenburg pass within a few meters from the hotel which made it impossible to sleep with an open window. The welcome was perfect - with a very smiling and helpful receptionist. The room is the smallest i have seen - ever - but was nicely decorated , new bathroom and very clean. However - dirty dishes were left in the corridor outside some rooms for a loooooooong time. The breakfast was perfect - many choices and tasty food. All in all the hotel was OK, but given the location and room size not worth the price I paid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the railway
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and we were not pleased with this hotel. At first we got a great impression from the lobby since it's quite well decorated and modern. But when we came to our rooms we were not too happy. Very small which work if you are a couple but we were travelling as a family and brought our stroller which we barely couldn't fit in our room.

Room was clean BUT there were stains around the bed carpet which I thought was quite disgusting.

Service at hotel was also poor. I stayed in a line to get som help because there were no one at front desk for about 10 minutes?! This was because I needed codes to be able to use my computer (WiFi) and though it was written in the information in the room (that you should be able to connect without codes), I still needed to get one at front desk. Tried to call them and get it since I had a little baby in my room but couldn't get the codes so I had to go downstairs with the baby in my arms just to wait for 10 minutes for a person to even show up!

Elevator was a big problem. The hotel only have one available and it's not funny to wait for a lifetime when you have a stroller = no option to use stairs.

Breakfast was good if you look at the options. Fresh bread, yoghurt, pancakes etc BUT we had to sit in sofas in the lobby to eat since the breakfast area was full every single day during our stay.

We also got the wrong bill at checking out so when we were ready to leave we realized that we had the wrong bill. So we had to go back to fix it all over again (and wait for 10 minutes AGAIN to get service) before we could leave.

We are absolutely not going to stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passionforpoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The place is clean and breakfast is good. The rooms are very small, and ours was facing the railroad with multiple tracks feeding the central station. During our stay, we had to open the window in order to get some fresh air, and the noise from passing trains made sleep very hard.
We have stayed here on previous occasion (in an other small room), but on that occasion, we were facing the backyard, which was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Norseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here for business and found it to be clean, well kept with friendly helpful staff. Breakfast here was stunning with a very good selection.
The location is very close to the main station in an unassuming street. A short walk takes you to the city centre and numerous good eating places.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was a surprise. I usually stay at the Radisson hotel when I am in Gothenburg, but this time I got a great deal at Rica.
Stayed here for 2 nights in July.

First the negative. The hotel is situated in a not so cosy neighbourhood and my room was extremely small.
The the positive. The breakfast is great and the hotels staff is very serviceminded.

Would I stay here again? Probably not because I prefer a hotel closer to central Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.3 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 25

Address: 25 Burggrevegatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Scandic No. 25)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $126 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic No. 25 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic No. 25 is centrally located in Gothenburg with the city's major shopping amenities, many restaurants and a rich cultural life, all within easy reach. Liseberg amusement park and the fashionable avenue Avenyn are just around the corner, and the hotel's proximity to Gothenburg Central Station makes it easy for you to go on excursions to the coast and the archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic No. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Gothenburg
Rica Motel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing