We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, little hotel”
Review of Scandic No. 25

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic No. 25
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel was a surprise. I usually stay at the Radisson hotel when I am in Gothenburg, but this time I got a great deal at Rica.
Stayed here for 2 nights in July.

First the negative. The hotel is situated in a not so cosy neighbourhood and my room was extremely small.
The the positive. The breakfast is great and the hotels staff is very serviceminded.

Would I stay here again? Probably not because I prefer a hotel closer to central Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Scandic No. 25
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 613 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Friendly and helpfull staff. Fresh, quiet single room, perfect. Breakfast was outstanding. Did miss not having tea and coffee making facilities, no free tea or coffee in reception either. But apart from that a great place to stay...and within walking distance from the station too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small but wonderfully renovated room with all comforts. Close to a real 4-star hotel even by Swedish standards. A bit overcrowded breakfast area. Particularly friendly and helpful staff!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ChrisGeneva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to the central train station and a variety of shops, bars and restaurants, only a few minutes walk away.
The staff are so friendly and welcoming on arrival and cannot fault the customer service from every single member of staff.
The room was a little small but done the job and was clean and tidy. No complaints whatsoever with the room. Bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked the rail lines and I was completely surprised at how quiet it was. We hrdly heard the trains at all.
Breakfast had a large variety of foods from bacon and eggs to cold meats, cereal and fresh fruit. Again no complaints.
Overall a lovely hotel with an ideal location and would recommend to anyone visiting Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were very dissapointed.
The good thing about the hotel is that it is really near the Central Railstation. (And yes, you can see and hear the trains through the windows).
The sleeping quality is quite good...
And now comes all the negative things. You can take a look at the pictures.
*Noisy: you can hear the trains and the neighbours (you don´t want to know what the do or how...)
*Dirty: dust at the furniture and in the bathroom, dirt at the furniture (t.ex. bed)
*Breakfast: no "healthy" alternatives with less fat. Coffee is not drincable at all. I had to sat to get some new articles when they were out of something.
*Newly renovated? The renovation is very bad and I am not sure that the whole hotel got renovated.
*9.a.m. The cleaner knocks at the door and asks if we are ready (check out is at 11 a.m.)... 9 a.m.? I thought they had some lists to check off, which rooms are ready to be cleaned. Not tht good to get up earlier than planned....
* We couldn´t lock the door, so we had to contact the reception staff that told us that the doors are "wronlgy installed", so you can´t lock them from inside. It locks automatically whithin 45 sec. Why couldn´t we get the information before???
*The rooms are very small, thera is no place for the bags....

I cannot recommend the hotel to anybody. I didn´t get a feellng of staying at 4-stars hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a nice surprise.
You look and hear that it is right near train tracks and you think noise, but not so. The double glazing of the windows do its job very well.
Unfortunately the rooms got quite warm at night time and the aircon was not that good.
Very central to central train station and only short walk to shopping district.
The only gripe I have (and really not the hotels fault) was the kids using the stairs and elevator as a playground at 11pm. The hotel staff should have been the ones to say something to the parents as other people should not have to put up with the little darlings when you pay good money to stay somewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice hotel, a walk away from main train station, great breakfast. Comfy bed.
Friendly staff, would stay there again..

Room Tip: Single room was quite narrow, small.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateGilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.3 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 25

Address: 25 Burggrevegatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Scandic No. 25)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $126 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic No. 25 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic No. 25 is centrally located in Gothenburg with the city's major shopping amenities, many restaurants and a rich cultural life, all within easy reach. Liseberg amusement park and the fashionable avenue Avenyn are just around the corner, and the hotel's proximity to Gothenburg Central Station makes it easy for you to go on excursions to the coast and the archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic No. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Gothenburg
Rica Motel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing