We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very helpful staff.”
Review of Scandic No. 25

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic No. 25
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Trondheim, Norway.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very helpful staff.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed there one night in August, at the end of my holiday. The hotel was close to the railway station (walking distance), and offers very good value for money. The room (single) was small, but clean and well equipped with towels and toiletries, and an excellent bed. It was quiet, and the breakfast was super.The people who worked there, were all VERY helpful and friendly, and it was very good value for money. I`ll be back.
Marit, Trondheim.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    261
    112
    29
    9
See reviews for
118
178
30
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Rica are just completing a full refurbishment of this hotel and it has been finished to a good standard, although they should have invested in a second lift. The room was way too small for two people and the air-conditioning did not work very well. We were told that this was an issue that they were resolving.

The triple glazing keeps the sound of the trains outside to a minimal level, but if you have to open the windows beacuse the air-conditioning does not work....

The hotel is conveniently located close to city centre amenities. Breakfast was good quality and a wide variety of items were available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeskinLancashire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had concerns over some negative remarks about this hotel, but we were very impressed with the quality of decor and friendliness on our arrival. Our room was not huge but more than ample. I enjoyed watching the variety of trains going past but we were never bothered with noise, as the windows are quadruple glazed. The hotel is a 3 minute walk from Central Station which makes " getting around" easy. The breakfast was one of the best I've had anywhere. The neighbourhood is not the best in Gothenburg but we didn't have any problems. Gothenburg was great. Big enough to be interesting but not too huge. Happily return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogeRowlandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronninglund, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night. Booked a budget room online and thought that I would get one of those run down rooms that is typical for budget rooms. But I was wrong. The room was really nice and seemingly newly decorated. The whole hotel has gone trough a renovation over the past months, and there are still parts with electrical wires hanging from the ceiling (in a safe way!), but the room was really nice albeit a tad small. For the previous reviews I was a bit anxious about getting a breakfast bag at the door, but that phase of the renovation is thankfully over. The breakfast was ok and had what you expect (bread, cereals, milk, yoghurt, ham, cheese, butter, eggs, bacon etc).

There are only two odd things about the room that I was unsatisfied with (although it's no biggie): First, there was no desk in the room. I had to work in bed. Luckily I only needed my laptop, but still. Secondly, there was a door between my room and the neighbor room. It's quite thin, so I could hear him quite well.

As I come to Göteborg often, I will absolutely consider booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed there for a weekend with som friends. Ok location and new and very clean rooms, but they were a bit small. Hotel is being renovated so breakfast was served in a bag outside the hotel rooms dore. Helpful and good service and relatively cheap parking available 200 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulekleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I only stayed here for 3 nights, but during that time, I was not feeling well. I did venture in and out, but really just wanted to rest some and get over what I had. Rest was not to be had because they were renovating the hotel. Noisy all through the day and early evening. Very frustrating. The hotel is outdated in some areas and the renovation is very much needed. However, the room was cozy and warm, and they also had a breakfast set up for you every morning. It was a nice touch for a weary and ill traveler. The staff was very nice and greeted you every time you were seen. There is one employee who stood out though, her name was Jennifer and she was super helpful, friendly, and nice. I had to call when I was lost from the train station and she guided me without any problems. She did make a difference and that is something nice when one is abroad for a while. Once the renovations are finished, I would recommend staying here. Goteborg is a pretty city and one should visit if they get the chance, but do it during the summer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray_Elliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Rica Hotel Goteborg is situated not far from the Central Railway Station on the gloomy and dark, but quiet street. You'll probably will not get a portion of enthusiasm while walking this street late at night. Please note, that a few taxi drivers know where this hotel is located and sometimes confuse it with other hotel called Erika.

The ground floor of the hotel is not nice at all, especially lift area. The only exception is the reception desk. However, the staff is ok.

After crappy lobby area a room seems to be nice at a glance. But after a few moments your notice that it is quite old, all the bathroom equipment shall be replaced or at least washed, hot water starts to run a couple of minutes after you have turned it on.

The best thing about this hotel is the price. It is cheap. Plus the location is not that bad. An ideal option for those who don't want to live at hostel and at the same time don't want to pay crazy money for 4 or 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank from_moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.7 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 25

Property: Scandic No. 25
Address: 25 Burggrevegatan, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden (Formerly Scandic No. 25)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic No. 25 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic No. 25 is centrally located in Gothenburg with the city's major shopping amenities, many restaurants and a rich cultural life, all within easy reach. Liseberg amusement park and the fashionable avenue Avenyn are just around the corner, and the hotel's proximity to Gothenburg Central Station makes it easy for you to go on excursions to the coast and the archipelago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic No. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Gothenburg
Rica Motel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing