We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gothenburg was on our trip list because of the Swedish Emigrant Research Center. . . We ended up loving Gothenburg and the Elite Plaza was one of the primary reasons for this. The hotel was delightful, charming, lovely, and incredibly accommodating. The restaurants were great and we ended up eating there quite a bit! Our room was well appointed and we greatly appreciated the cognac and chocolates in the evenings! The little bar downstairs was perfect for sitting and watching the world walk by. The breakfast was just what we love in the morning. The hotel itself was a reflection of Gothenburg past and present. We will return and will become consummate Elite patrons . This place is VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Opt for a Jr Suite. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 744 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stay in this hotel on working trips to Gothenburg. It's central, very comfortable, charming staff all of whom speak excellent English - but above all it has a truly terrific restaurant. One of their specialities is lobster soup, but in fact anything on the menu that involves fish, or seafood in general, although quite expensive, is first class. In fact it makes me look forward to my frequent trips to Gothenburg, and I can't say that for many places where I have to get up an hour earlier than usual and work all the next day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I like the top floor, and my favourite room is the one right behind the statue of the goddess Svea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times and would not hesitate to recommend it. The standard is good four star rather than 5, but this is fairly reflected in the price. We will stay there again. The location is central and very handy for the trams, which are the best way to get around in Gbg

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter. There is no swimming pool and we didn't use the spa, if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124Brian124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

So Gothenburg probably isn't your first choice city when it comes to a romantic weekend away. However I think the Elite Plaza may go some way to enhance that experience. Nice if not huge rooms, but sexy looking, good beds, bathrooms and cozy, well decorated. Good restaurant for breakfast and dinner really interesting architecture, nice mood lit bar in the evening with good house wine, friendly young staff very boutique feel to the whole place. Has its own pub downstairs so in fact you can almost skip any sightseeing and just go from restaurant to pub to bar to bedroom or any order you choose.......£148 for double inc breakfast not that bad if you want to impress.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamJC-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A last minute booking at a hotel that I'm sorry to say I am a member of their chain.
Checked in by a friendly staff but received a room that I payed close to $400 which matched the old environment of this reconstructed building,a bank...a safety deposit box.
Tiny and stuffy with small windows accompanied by the smell of dampness and furnished with small beds that had very,very high mattresses,much too high to feel comfortable and safe to sleep in.
Their "gourmet" restaurant was mediocre and lacked professional service...very expensive for what they had on their menu.
Their breakfast was sloppy and lacked some of the other Elite hotels' offerings.
Stayed April 24th.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

beautiful hotel, amazing, wonderful service, great amenities. Excellent breakfast in lovely light-filled restaurant. Great restaurant options - enjoyed both the Svea Hof and Bishop's Arms Pub for dinners. Great location, easy walking (or tramline available out front) to many of the Goteborgs attractions, including the Scandinavium and Liseberg. I look forward to staying there again on future visits to Goteborg.

Room Tip: we were a bit confused about terminology - three of us had a standard room with deluxe upgrade and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Several positive points:
- perfect location
- Spacious room
- modern sleek interior
- our kids found cute complimentary teddy bears as welcome which delighted them
- friendly staff and helpful concierge
- valet parking (even though you have to pay a quite expensive price for it)
On the negative, the noise:
- they were doing renovation work just on the floor on top of us and started the works even before eight! (upon my complaint though the staff made sure the work would not start before ten the next morning)
- the room at street level where we were had a garbage truck coming to collect at a really early time every morning, making a lot of noise for at least fifteen minutes! good luck going back to sleep after that...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.1 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Address: 3 Vaestra Hamngatan | Box 11065, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $137 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Plaza Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing