We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in Gothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good hotel in Gothenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very cozy hotel not far from the center. Careful there is another Elite Hotel in the center.
If you are lucky or if you pay for a superior room you will get a fair size room by the European standards room. If not, the rooms are tiny.
I like their breakfast with fresh fruit, juices, newspapers, etc. served in an open space.
The staff is helpful and friendly. The decor is a mix of classic and modern with an imposing art on the main stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boobyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    249
    76
    32
    7
See reviews for
63
245
51
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms were tiny, single bed and a very small desk. Excellent Internet connections, very clean good bathroom. Food was excellent and great breakfast selection. Would stay again but would ask about the room.

Room Tip: Look at the size of the singles. Some are very very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allendale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Location is amazing, everything was comfortable in the room, I had one of the best nights sleep in this hotel, breakfast was excellent.
Parts of this hotel are very old which is both plus and minus points I suppose, depending on your taste.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. The breakfast is fantastic. The only remark is that the rooms might seem a bit small to some people, but I love the place. Have stayed there at least 15 times. Best hotel in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere
Very comfortable and luxurious. Excellent quality fixtures and fittings.

Ammenities
Great WiFi network. Excellent up scale bedrooms with large beds. Plenty of room in bedrooms. Great bar downstairs with huge whisky collection. Very expensive drinks though

Food
Only ate breakfast here but it was fine with a great selection of meat, cheese and some hot food also.

Overall
Very good quality hotel with excellent staff. I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwebb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Arriving at Gutenberg airport it takes about 25 minutes by taxi to get to the Hotel, which is very centrally located and cost @ 465 SEK.
The Hotel is in fact fairly new, although the building is old ( an old Insurance company I believe ). The result of this is a rather a rather strange mixture of open spaces some of which appear to serve little purpose and some very high ceilings. By and large it works, but you are left with some anomalies which do not always seem customer orientated. I was given a room on the ground floor with instructions by a cheerfull receptionist that “ You turn left and go straight down the corridor”, failing to mention ( or offer any assistance ) that this entailed climbing 16 steps up and another 6 down to conquer a sort of massive architectural speed bump which seemed to serve no purpose other than provide guests with exercise with a bonus of a hernia if they got lucky. OK with light luggage, but a challenge with full international suitcase and hand luggage.

The room was although quite small was well appointed and had a quality feel to it. It had a nifty desk which opened up into a work area with power supplies and mirror. The view from my ground floor window was less than impressive looking out at street level onto a shady narrow street where you were essentially eyeball to eyeball with passing pedestrians with a lace curtain between you.

The bathroom was definitely small when you could stand in the middle and comfortably touch two walls with the other two a further hands width away, with shower over the bath. It all worked and was clean and nice fluffy towels.

The bed was comfortable so too pillows and duvet etc.

A nice touch was a turn down service ( a rarity in Europe these days ) which was a proper service with a tidy up, slippers out, and even a miniature bottle of Hennessey and a chocolate put out.

I did not try the pub downstairs but it looked cozy and well patronized, but did use the Hotel Bar and restaurant, the bar seemed to be a meeting place for quite a few locals and had a nice atmosphere. The restaurant food was very good, ( but pricey ) likewise the service, the only slight complaint I would have was that due to hard surfaces all round and very high ceilings the room acted like an echo chamber so a little noisy.

When I arrived there was no doorman, so in addition to the internal stairs I also had to drag my cases up approx. 9-10 stairs from the street, however I noted that at most times there did seem to be a doorman, so concluded I was just unlucky.

Would I stay there again……yes most likely but would choose my room more carefully and use the lift to a higher floor where there was a more uplifting view and no internal obstacle courses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singapore_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed in a Junior suite. It was very good except for the lights from the street coming straight into the bathroom and through the glass door into the room. We stayed there in December 2012 and January 2013 and it was the same with the lights.

The Staff were friendly and the breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichP292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Property: Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Address: 3 Vaestra Hamngatan | Box 11065, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Plaza Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing