We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful breakfasts”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel has a wonderful central location, close to the cathedral and the Hamn Canal. It's also close to the Domkyrkan tram stop, but within easy walking distance of pretty well everything we wanted to visit. We found the staff very pleasant and friendly. The room was adequate but perhaps a bit disappointing for the price, and the breakfasts were excellent.

Some tips. We were relieved of 170 SEK for the privilege of taking a taxi from the bus terminus. Buy a Gothenburg Pass on-line before you leave home and take the number 6 tram from Nordstan, (direction Kortedala.) No one asks to see your pass on the tram, the approaching stops are announced and displayed, and you get off at Domkyrkan.

The breakfasts are wonderful. As others have observed, the breakfast room can get quite busy but you can take your breakfast into the bar. It's best not to put everything on your plate at once. You can go back a second time. Going three times avoids the need for lunch.

You might take a drink before dinner in The Bishop's Arms, the hotel's English-themed (!) cellar bar. It's convenient, pleasant enough, but during our stay it had only one Swedish beer on draught. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant. There are some wonderful fish restaurants nearby.

And if you fancy a night cap, check the prices before you order. Otherwise you could end up paying 638 SEK for a brandy, a rum and two small espressos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    262
    80
    34
    7
See reviews for
68
256
53
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed here as I was going to a friends wedding nearby. It was perfect, the staff spoke really good English and were so helpful and polite. The breakfast in the morning (although a little pricey) was amazing, such a selection and of such a high quality and standard.
The location of the hotel is very convenient as it is just a short walk from all the shopping centres and the canal. There is a coffee shop over the road which does the nicest coffee and sandwiches.
To be honest Sweden overall is a must!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytots00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here over a long weekend to treat ourselves. The location is nice and central and the staff were very accommodating. Our room was charming with plenty of space and a nice bathroom. We had dinner one night in the hotel restaurant which was delicious. It is a little on the expensive side but definitely worth the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeseaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice hotel located in the center of Göteborg. It's hosted in what seems an example of '50s scandinavian functionalism building. Huge breakfast included. My room wasn't to big but definitively comfortable. Very expensive in occasion of big events as pop concerts held in the near ullevi stadium, so book very early.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This place is beautiful, the outside, the lobby, the room and even the restaurant!!! The breakfast was very nice, even though I am not used to seeing Herring and Cheese on the same buffet. The staff were extremely pleasant and spoke perfect English which was great as I don't know a word of Swedish.
I would 100% come back to the Elite Plaza again, thank you for making my stay a good one!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmakay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week, and the Hotel had everything you could ask for! It was very clean with comfortable beds. Also a mini fridge, and laundry service.
The personnel was very helpful and courteous!
The breakfast was the best ever, with so many choices!!
The location was great! Close to all the important sights and restaurants. Even walking distance to Liseberg.

Room Tip: Our room was located facing the garden. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I found that the hotel holds back alot of information.
first we were not informed about the % reservation that was taken from the creditcard on checkin. I have traveled a fair bit and I understand that this is the norm, but they should still let us know.
Before we arrived I called booking and asked for the best solution for a family of four and was told the solution would be a hotel suite with additional beds.
When we arrived in the room, the beds were not in the room and when I asked the receptionist about the ekstra beds she told me where to find the sheets and to make the sofa that could be made into a sleeping sofa. After I asked her if it was expected that I would do this, she said yes... But if you want we can send someone up to help you.
We were paying 2000 per night for the room, and expect to have a bed madeup for us.
The sleeping sofa was useless for adults by the way, as it was not "firm enough". Atleast on our room.
Breakfast was a standard, no fuss no pluss. But as expected at this type of hotel.
The rooms were old-un refurbished and even though we were told that we needed a suite it was not a seperate door from the seating area and the seating area with the sofa-bed was very small and difficult to walk inside the room with a few bags. Clearly not really intended to be a family room.
The main bed was good and comfortable, goodsize bathroom though needs an update.
The same price will give you a great room in a newer hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mskorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg

Property: Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Address: 3 Vaestra Hamngatan | Box 11065, Gothenburg 411 17, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Plaza Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing