We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Expedia.com
$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Destinia.com
$101
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Hotels.com$114
eDreams$114
Agoda.com$114
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,627)
Filter reviews
1,627 results
Traveler rating
1,154
425
32
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,154
425
32
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea and cake home made cakes central station charming hotel afternoon cakes chain hotels would definitely stay here again breakfast was excellent reception area scrambled eggs bars and restaurants location is excellent city centre sofa tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
305 - 310 of 1,627 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2016

A well located medium sized hotel right in the centre of Gothenburg - you can walk everywhere. Comfortable with excellent, caring staff. Good for those on vacation and business. We had a medical problem during our stay and they were of considerable help. I'd go back.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swpscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at Hotel Royal. Right from the start the warm, welcoming greeting and ever present cake and coffee make you feel at home. The hotel has great nostalgic touches like the beautiful lobby ceiling, cozy sitting areas and old fashioned keys but also all the modern amenities. Our room was a superior double room which had plenty of space for us, a very comfortable bed and a nice sized modern bathroom. Our room, on the first floor, faced a street and we opened one of our windows for fresh air every evening, but were never bothered by noise. Breakfast was good with the typical options...a couple egg choices, sausages, meatballs, cereals, yogurts, juices, pastries, etc. The only minor inconvenience to be aware of is there are a few steps into the hotel (no ramp) that you must negotiate with your luggage, though there is an auto door opener which was nice. Parking was close by in the P-hus which we purchased through the hotel. No trouble ever finding a space. I would definitely stay at Hotel Royal again!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank LoisE81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My husband and I wish we would have stayed more than one night here! It was easy to find and walk to from the train station, with a very friendly and helpful front desk staff. The location made it very easy for us to explore the city easily on foot, and we particularly enjoyed the patio to relax. The room had small touches that made it feel more high end than we had expected. Plenty of towels in the bathroom and very comfortable beds, which has not been the usual in our overseas travels.

We were very appreciative of the great customer service and the fantastic accommodations.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thekaizenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Hotel Royal was perfect! From the moment you enter, it's so welcoming! They have cake, tea, and coffee waiting in the lobby all the time, and there are two lovely drawing rooms and a patio where you can enjoy them. We were amazed by how spacious the hotel was, including the large, lovely breakfast area. The staff were friendly and helpful. And the stairwell is beautiful. We're big Rick Steves' fans, and even though we didn't find this hotel through Rick Steves, it felt very much like the kind of thing his books would recommend, though perhaps just a bit nicer.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saramac02474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

This is a classic old hotel with real keys (not plastic) and someone always on service at the front desk (drop your key on the way out) Oh, and fresh baked cakes at the coffee / tea bar when you come in from a long day walking.
The room (3rd floor) was big, upgraded we were told (thank you), and comfortable. Our bath had a shower and tub (not in all units she told me at check in). The bath also featured a drying rack, nice for drying a light clothes wash.
The desk people were all professional, welcoming and very helpful with directions. They are clearly proud of their hotel.
The issue with the noise (with our room at least) is that the streets outside are old and narrow. The first night we were there (Saturday) someone was playing a drum in the streets at 4:30 a.m. Sunday morning. The next 2 mornings the issue was the 6:00 a.m. trucks, either delivery or, worse, dumpster garbage trucks that you just can't sleep through, especially with the windows open in the summer (no AC).

Room tip: Ask for one that does not overlook the truck delivery street / area.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CRS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews