We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I found this hotel through trip advisor and picked it based on location and price. I wasn't disappointed! It's a 5 minute walk from central station and a few minutes from restaurants and shops.
The staff were welcoming as I arrived. It reminded me more of an old English hotel rather than a Swedish one. My room was great, it's the first double bed I've come across in Sweden. The room was clean and tidy, they even had blackout blinds.
I had breakfast included in my rate but to be honest I would give it a miss if you have to pay extra. The choice is limited, fresh water melon, eggs and cereal.
I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambersgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

There many hotels in Gothenburg, but not many good ones. Most of the cities hotels aspire to nothing and achieve it. whereas The Royal, hidden away in a back street only minutes walk from Central Station and the heart of Gothenburg provides a welcome and endeavours to deliver good service with comfort.

The staff cannot be more helpful even offering advice and knowledge on the area. the hotel gives the appearance of being small but very traditional and is well furnished and clean.

As is the modern way breakfast is a help yourself treatment with the occasional staff member appearing to replenish and clear. No mini bars in rooms but you can obtain a warm beer or wine and selection of snacks from reception ( in fairness they probably don't serve you from th display but find will find you a cold beer if you ask - I just never asked !

This is without doubt the second best hotel I have visited in Gothenburg - and I have stayed in most. Certainly it provides the best value and service.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hotel Royal is right in the city centre, only 200m from the train station.
The building is a beautiful 1850s building that is up to 21st century standard. Fast Wifi Internet, good desk, nicely designed rooms.
Breakfast is excellent, staff are very friendly and helpful. Definitely a hotel to come back to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Thşs hotel is in the heart of Gothenburg. It is very close to central station, big shopping mall and the most popular avenue of the city. Building itself is pretty old and rooms are small. Hotel was pretty clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARIS_SAVCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I just had an over-night stay in this hotel, but this was already sufficient to get a good impression of its highlights. The building is old, but carefully and lovely set up. Very cosy atmosphere. I had a single room which was really small, but with everything you need for a short stay. The bathroom was tiny, but with a ground level shower which I like a lot. Great breakfast buffet, with many different items of high quality. Very caring and competitive staff. The hotel is right in the city center, so there are plenty of options if you want to go outside.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I enjoyed and will come back -that's my entry.
Positive: kindness of the staff, nice breakfast area, with warm colours. Small but comfortable lounges. Nice rooms, tough some can be small. Coffee-tea and cakes are availableall day by the reception. It's the first hotel of the city -if you look for something truly swedish, don't miss it.
Negative: one wing of the building faces an ugly car park (north-west).
Prices are in the range of fine hotels in Goteborg, an expensive city, considering Swedish average.

Room Tip: Get a room facing north-east (slightly better view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in a single room, very small but clean. Front desk staff are charming and helpful. Breakfast is good but just need some stronger coffee. Location is very central and would recommend for business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,963 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 65 in Gothenburg
3,530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 65 in Gothenburg
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $128 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing