We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lovely rooms, EXCEPTIONAL service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely rooms, EXCEPTIONAL service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

After an amazing stay at Hotel Royal last year, we decided to return there for our most recent trip to Gothenburg. And we weren't disappointed. At reception we were welcomed back as if we were long lost family. Made us feel right at home. It felt like the sort of personal service you would receive at a little B&B. Yet this hotel is right in the middle of Gothenburg, only a little over a 5 min walk away from central station. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is great - delicious meatballs! All of this and at such a low price tag in Swedish terms. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Thanks Hotel Royal for another fantastic stay. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    265
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
124
327
98
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I travel a few times a year to Gothenburg and have stayed in several hotels. This is by far the best one I´ve ever stayed at there. Located not too far from the central station its fully possible to walk. Its a smaller hotel anyway compared to the larger ones in town. The staff was excellent fiendly and warm from the start. The room was traditionally designed but very clean. So was the bathroom, I ve never seen a bathroom this clean in any hotel in Sweden. Sadly cleaning is not the best in many swedish hotels. The bath had a shower no bathtub. There was a safe, a flat screen television, free wifi in the room. Every afternoon they serve complimentary cakes and tea or coffee. Tea and coffee seems t be possible to get for free all day round in the lobby. They have a lovely lounge with nice chairs. The beds in the room wonderful. breakfast served in the adjacent breakfast room, plenty of space. Excellent service meaning they kept the place clean even though there would be many people having breakfast at the same time. Excellent scrambled eggs, plenty of choice for muesli. Good fresh bread. Nothing really to complain about. One disadvantage with the hotel is that it is in the middle of the city and the shopping district. It got a bit noisy at night outside the hotel from people being drunk during the weekend. No problems within the hotel though.Dont look for any other place book your stay here and you wont get disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located a short (less than 5 mins) walk from the central train station, Hotel Royal is an old, well kept hotel that sets a good backdrop for a romantic weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, and, while the hotel does not have a restaurant itself (except for serving breakfast), many restaurant recommendations can be found in the reception, and many great places to eat are just a short walk away.

Close to shopping center and shopping streets with shops for everyone, Goteborg is a nice city to escape to.

Room Tip: This is a very old hotel. While well kept, the rooms are not very well sound insulated. Asking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteinarE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Royal during February 2013. The hotel is situated in the centre of Gothenburg, a few minutes walk away from the main bus/train station. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly. The atmosphere is very relaxed with comfortable rooms. Breakfast is served buffet style with food being constantly topped up until the end of the allocated time. Coffee/tea with lovely home baked cake is available on a self-serve basis during the afternoon which was a lovely treat. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a convenient hotel with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuhlmutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great hotel, friendly welcoming staff and large rooms with all the facility's. Nice to stay in such a place rather than the average chain hotels. Good location to the city centre. 12 out of 10 highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Independently run hotel, with classical and decently sized rooms. Convenient location to explore the small city centre of Gothenburg. Appreciate the atmosphere for afternoon tea with cosy furniture in lobby and rooms downstairs. Great breakfast, with a nice Swedish touch.

Overall, a good deal in terms of value for money, in a place with a soul. Very friendly staff as well.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very central location, just behind Radisson, and much more affordable. Each room is different, and my single room was very small and basic, but adequate. Nice public areas and good breakfast. All public transportation is easy to reach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Property: Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing