We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Onyxen”
Review of Hotell Onyxen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotell Onyxen
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Really good location, easy to go everywhere. Great rooms (bathrooms little bit old, but ok), good breakfast, really friendly staff. Money - Quality is perfect. Definitely will go again, if ever goes to Gothenburg again. Italian restaurant at the hotel was The best we´ve been, and we´ve been in manys.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaumaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 103 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

For visiting concerts in Scandinavium or Liseberg this hotel has a perfect location.
Shoppingarea 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you don`t want to walk, you can take the tube.
The elevator was small....so we walk the stairs instead!
Good service from the friendly staff in the reception, both day and night :)
Nice and clean rooms. Some rooms have some trafficnoise, but quite and nice in the rooms facing the backyard.
Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Quite rooms facing the backyard. A bit noisy in the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norskjente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Onyxen Hotel. The service was excellent and the staff were all so friendly. It is an old hotel with a small lobby but the room we stayed in was large and comfortable with a sofa, armchairs, coffee table and a chandelier! It didn't have all of the modern supplies that come with most hotels these days but it more than made up,for it in other ways. Tea and coffee were available free of charge all day and night with light snacks. The breakfast was very good and it was in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having given up on the large central hotels in Gothenburg (too expensive/difficult to accomodate a family of 5!) we found the Hotel Onyxen where we stayed for a week (while I was on a business trip). Really friendly staff and the kids enjoyed their stay where we all shared a large open room with lots of daylight. Breakfast was good and in fact we found that the restaurant seems to be a well kept secret in this hotel, we ate there twice and the short menu was very good and the deserts even better. It's a short walk from most of the good familiy attractions (e.g. Universeum) and a tram takes you into the centre in about 10 mins, but then I have to say Gothenberg is one of the easiest cities I have ever been in to move around in by public transport. So if you are not looking for typical large hotel pampering (min bar, 24hr room service, gym etc etc) and want a good value place to stay with familiy I would fully recommend the Onyxen for a stay in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Small passenger lift and a long spiral staircase to the upper floors (it's an older building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night in feb-13. We were driving and it was really hard to find the hotel by car. Once we found it, we made a wrong turn and had to drive a long round to enter again. We decided to park in the hotel. 3 small parkingspaces in the backyard for 170 skr. The staff were really nice and welcoming. The elevator is the smallest i have ever seen; hardly room for one person.
We stayed three persons in a superior room. It was spacious and clean. Two beds were big and really good to sleep in. The third was a small, not so good-folding bed. The bathroom was worn and old. We had a room on third floor facing the street. The traffic was not annoying (maybe because it was sunday morning?). We didnt eat breakfast becaus we couldnt make it on time. Open only until 10 in the morning on a sunday. The check-out time was 11, but the nice staff let us stay til 12.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The staff were really friendly and helpful, from suggesting restaurants to small talk when handing in the key for the evening.
We got a twin room on the 4th floor, it was clean but it could use some new wall color and the bathroom was quite old. The breakfast/bar lounge is better, it feels very bright and you get a lot of daylight as it has big windows towards the street. The breakfast is small but ok, what you need but not much more.
The location is great, 5 min walk to Liseberg/Universum and airport busses. 10 min walk to Avenyn, and some restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Cheap and small hotel, close to Liseberg amusementpark.
Free HighSpeed Internet. Small breakfast, and snack in the evening.

Verry small elevator, fits only one person with baggage.
The rooms are nice, but if you order a single room, you have to be prepared to stay in a verry small room. The double rooms are large.

TV has 6 swedish channels only.
Parking costs 120SEK per. night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thorsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
201 reviews
3.2 mi away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
537 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Onyxen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Onyxen

Address: 23 Sten Sturegatan, Gothenburg 412 52, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $86 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Onyxen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 34 rooms, each one uniquely and tastefully furnished with a well-reasoned mix of light, art and materials. It offers everything from single rooms to rooms with 4-6 beds.Staying with us means that you start the day in the hearth of Gothenburg. You have Scandinavium, the Swedish Exhibition Centre and Gothenburg Conference Center just across the street and the Avenue, Liseberg, Ullevi Stadium are within short walking distance, and you will have public transport right by the doorstep. We also have suitable parking spaces if you arrive by car. So whether you are traveling alone, at work or with your family, we have accommodations which will suit you. Your stay will be comfortable, and you can relax in our bar after a having a great meal in our Italian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotell Onyxen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Onyxen Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing