We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff and an ok hotell”
Review of Hotell Onyxen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Onyxen
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice staff and an ok hotell”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night in feb-13. We were driving and it was really hard to find the hotel by car. Once we found it, we made a wrong turn and had to drive a long round to enter again. We decided to park in the hotel. 3 small parkingspaces in the backyard for 170 skr. The staff were really nice and welcoming. The elevator is the smallest i have ever seen; hardly room for one person.
We stayed three persons in a superior room. It was spacious and clean. Two beds were big and really good to sleep in. The third was a small, not so good-folding bed. The bathroom was worn and old. We had a room on third floor facing the street. The traffic was not annoying (maybe because it was sunday morning?). We didnt eat breakfast becaus we couldnt make it on time. Open only until 10 in the morning on a sunday. The check-out time was 11, but the nice staff let us stay til 12.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
32
12
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The staff were really friendly and helpful, from suggesting restaurants to small talk when handing in the key for the evening.
We got a twin room on the 4th floor, it was clean but it could use some new wall color and the bathroom was quite old. The breakfast/bar lounge is better, it feels very bright and you get a lot of daylight as it has big windows towards the street. The breakfast is small but ok, what you need but not much more.
The location is great, 5 min walk to Liseberg/Universum and airport busses. 10 min walk to Avenyn, and some restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Cheap and small hotel, close to Liseberg amusementpark.
Free HighSpeed Internet. Small breakfast, and snack in the evening.

Verry small elevator, fits only one person with baggage.
The rooms are nice, but if you order a single room, you have to be prepared to stay in a verry small room. The double rooms are large.

TV has 6 swedish channels only.
Parking costs 120SEK per. night.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2007

was sent to this fine place through info booth near train station - most friendly people who were also very helpful - was having difficulty getting to Volvo visitors center (and adjusting to Swedish directions) - always made to feel welcome - made my trip a pleasure. Service very good and prices reasonable (especially considering service) - might add a most fine single malt whiskey available at bar - all spoke a better English than I hear at home - will practice my Swedish for next visit - would highly recommend to anybody looking for well located and reasonable accomodation

Tony Sproule
Edmonton Alberta Canada

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank canuckledragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Very small rooms, smallest elevator in the world, clean, Swedish TV channels only, HS internet available but expensive, great location

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prdm100480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

Great location. Low budget hotel with nice service but old rooms. Especially the bathrooms need to be upgraded. But cheap.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in November 2005.
We only got a single room with an extra sofabed, but we were very satisfied. The hotel is a converted apartmenthouse in walking distance from most of the attractions in Gothenburg.
A small reception and a breakfast room. Only a few parking places. Small, but nice room with a beautiful cristallamp. Small bathroom with WC and a shower. Clean and nice colours. Very friendly staff.

Address: Hotell Onyxen, Sten Sturegatan 23, 412 52 Gothenburg.
e-mail: [--]

Helpful?
4 Thank grethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Onyxen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Onyxen

Property: Hotell Onyxen
Address: 23 Sten Sturegatan, Gothenburg 412 52, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Onyxen 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 34 rooms, each one uniquely and tastefully furnished with a well-reasoned mix of light, art and materials. It offers everything from single rooms to rooms with 4-6 beds.Staying with us means that you start the day in the hearth of Gothenburg. You have Scandinavium, the Swedish Exhibition Centre and Gothenburg Conference Center just across the street and the Avenue, Liseberg, Ullevi Stadium are within short walking distance, and you will have public transport right by the doorstep. We also have suitable parking spaces if you arrive by car. So whether you are traveling alone, at work or with your family, we have accommodations which will suit you. Your stay will be comfortable, and you can relax in our bar after a having a great meal in our Italian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotell Onyxen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Onyxen Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing