We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad experience as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel in August this year, a Friday night and a Saturday night a week later. Our first stay was very satisfactory.Clean room, a good night's sleep and very good breakfast. The staff was friendly both upon check in and check out.

However, the second night was a very unpleasant experience. We received a room right next to the exit to the deck (I think it was 101) and the noise of steps on the iron staircase came through to the room and it was very disturbing. The TV didn't work ( it seemed like the cable was not plugged in in the back), so we couldn't 'cover' the noise coming from the deck with running the TV in the background. We were quite tired so we wanted to take a shower and get to bed early. It took about 3 minutes for the water in the shower to get warm which was a bit annoying but afterwards it was ok. We went to bed at around 9 pm and were reading, hoping to fall asleep despite of the noise coming from the deck. There was a sign which stated that the door to the deck will be closed at 22:00 but we could hear steps from outside way beyond 22:00. But the biggest problem was a group of young women who were up all night and created noise by walking from one room to the other, talking loudly in the corridor and slamming the doors not thinking about other guests. At 23:30 I asked them to keep the noise down and they were quieter for a while, but not for long. We should have complained to the reception, but we were too tired to move into another room in the middle of the night (and I think the hotel was full, so I am not sure if we could have got another room). We finally fell asleep at around 3:30 am. As I said before I should have complained, but I don't know how this wasn't spotted by the reception. The next morning I wanted to mention this at the check out, but the whole checkout only took about 10 seconds (we just handed back the access card) and when we asked if that was it the receptionist said yes, and as the room was pre-paid there was nothing else to do. She didn't even ask if we had a good stay which upset us so much that we decided to leave.
So, all in all, the first night's stay was very good, the second was very unpleasant, hence my average rating.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the exit to the deck (e.g 101)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiggsyBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 616 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This boat offers small rooms and a bit crowded breakfast room, but is good value for money and situated near the Central Station. Very clean, very helpful staff. The location is maybe a bit on the wrong side of the station, i.e. not towards he centre of the town.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gunnar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel have badly soundproofed doors, so you hear everything outside the corridor. Not fun when you want to sleep after a long day.
The biggest disappointment is that the hotel has no gym / spa department. I thought it was standard in year 2013 in hotels for business travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning+ Goteborg City, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Sir!
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay on our boat hotel!
Your opinions are very important for us and we appreciate that you took your valuable time to write a review. We regret that our standard not meet with your expectations. We are very sorry that you did not have a good night sleep, if we had been advised we could have moved you to a quieter area on the boat. Our facilities are stated on the booking channels and our homepage and we do not offer spa and gym facilities, we have two good gyms that we cooperate with and would facilitate your request.
We hope that we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Best regards
Britt Pettersson
General Manager
ibis Styles Göteborg City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our last minute city break to Gothenburg. The location was perfect for us. Nice and peaceful, but less than 10 minutes walk from the city centre, either using the overpass into the huge Nordstan shopping centre or walking under the impressive 83m tall "Lipstick" building along the quay. Staff were absolutely excellent! The rooms are small, but it is a converted ship cabin so it is never going to be palacial. That said, they have modern decor and en-suite facilities, and are very clean. The only tip I would give is be early for breakfast as there are not a lot of tables in the dining area. We didnt come down for breakfast until 10am on the first day and ended up sitting at the bar after a short wait. Overall however, lovely stay and hard to fault for what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable with lovely views. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but this was okay as you could help yourself to free tea and coffee in the dining area.

Although I was initially concerned about the size of the room as we had 2 large cases and rucksacks it wasn't a problem. There was enough room to store the smaller rucksacks in the cupboard and the suitcases were able to stand against the wall - leaving enough room to move around them.

The breakfast was nice but it was busy as a lot of people on business seem to use this hotel during the week. Probably best if you eat a bit later. On one evening we decided to have our evening meal on the boat and although the menu is limited it was very nice and the cost was reasonable. (It also had the cheapest beer we came across in Sweden).

It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the bus station and a further couple of minutes to walk to the shops.

If you don't mind the walk to the centre of town then this is a hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on our way from oslo to copenhagen. Was interested to stay on a converted boat in the harbour for a bit of a change from the rest of our 60 day adventure.
The rooms are really very small and theres not much room for your luggage but we worked around this and found a way to place bags so we wouldnt trip over them.
We had view over the harbour and it was quite a treat to wake up to all sorts of boats coming up and down the harbour.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes along the harbour front to the main shopping district.
Staff were friendly and helpful making it a pleasure to stay here.
If you can put up with the small rooms (it is a boat after all) and water on the bathroom floor then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jezlandy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
264 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning+ Goteborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning+ Goteborg City

Address: 15B Gullbergs Strandgata, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Göteborg City)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning+ Goteborg City 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a ship on the quayside, Good Morning+ offers a lot of hotel for your money, with modern rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning + Göteborg City is a cosy floating hotel right in the heart of Gothenburg, within walking distance of Liseberg amusement park, the Göteborg Opera and the shops around Avenyn. The outstanding location offers magnificent views of the harbour in Gothenburg. Three "captain's cabins" high up at the front of the ship offer unique meeting rooms which can be combined with unique accommodation and great food for inspiring meetings. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. The restaurant has sea views and in the summer we have a sundeck where you can enjoy a breakfast coffee or afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet opens at 6 am. Parking spaces are available right outside the hotel. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2012. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Morning+ Goteborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Goteborg City Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Goteborg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing