We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    304
    125
    22
    7
See reviews for
63
244
53
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
294 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here to rebalance our travel budget after staying at a couple of "big splurge" hotels in Norway and France. Staying at Ibis Styles Goteborg City was quite a comedown, so to speak. It seemed a fun idea to stay on a ship converted into a hotel, but the reality was quite different. First of all, after staying at half a dozen Ibis Hotels in France, this location offered by far the TINIEST room I have ever seen. There wasn't even room to open your suitcase since the two twin beds took up 95% of the room. You should be aware there is no air conditioning in this hotel. While in Sweden this is not a necessity, it is if you are booked there in mid-summer and your room faces south, as ours did. It was quite hot and uncomfortable. We stayed here for two nights and going out for the day at 9 AM we left the "please make up the room" card on the door. By 4 PM when we returned the room was still not made up with clean towels. Since I like to nap in the afternoon after being out all day I'm afraid I made quite a scene at the front desk, especially after they sold me a piping hot cola. While pleasant to me, the front desk clerk explained their priority is to first make up rooms being vacated. It made me feel even more convinced WE should have vacated, too. This hotel is quite far from any restaurant, shopping or attractions. That's why at the front desk they sell drinks and snacks. To me, the whole experience was quite unpleasant and reminded me of some of the youth hostels I stayed in 40 years ago when I was in my 20's. Sorry, but this hotel was not for us.

Room Tip: If you are booked on the ground floor and facing the shore (south facing) you will be awake all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning+ Goteborg City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Goteborg City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely
Britt Pettersson
General Manager ibis Göteborg City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This docked cruise ship is a great value on the docks of Gothenburg. While the rooms aren't large, they are sufficient, clean, and comfortable. The window offers a view of the river and a great breeze which was very nice during a hotter than normal July week. The breakfasts were the traditional European buffet with delicious breads and danish. The city's attractions are a safe and clean walk away...Only thing that was problematic was Wifi access, while free, was spotty.

Room Tip: Request a river side so you get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well, you're paying mostly for location and being on a ship. Rooms are small, quilt very short for a tall person like me.

Nothing to complain about cleanliness and food. Even can say that breakfast was really nice and eaten in friendly atmosphere - it looks like everyone is on a business trip, so need to go on meeting or to some office, but nobody was in hurry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michał T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good location not far from city center, 10 minutes walk to railway station. Friendly staff, no problem chancing down bed wear to anti-allergic one. Not the best one though, better alternatives for allergic persons are easily available.

Good breakfast, typical scandinavian.

Wonderful view from the the room (if you are lucky to be be on the sea side).

Room Tip: All rooms are good, that is they are like staterooms on a ship. No hair dryeir, no bidet, but otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning+ Goteborg City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam
We at ibis Styles Gothenburg City thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at our hotel ship!
I along with the staff work constantly to improve our hotel and standard of service so that we can become even better at meeting our guest expectations! And we hope that we will have the pleasure to see you as a guest at our Hotel ship again!

Sincerely
Britt Pettersson
General Manager ibis Göteborg City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay in Gothenburg.
The hotel is on a ship, walking distance from the center of the city. The rooms and the bathrooms are small, but very clean and up to date.
Friendly people and a nice breakfast gave us two very nice days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning+ Goteborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning+ Goteborg City

Property: Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Address: 15B Gullbergs Strandgata, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Göteborg City)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning+ Goteborg City 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a ship on the quayside, Good Morning+ offers a lot of hotel for your money, with modern rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning + Göteborg City is a cosy floating hotel right in the heart of Gothenburg, within walking distance of Liseberg amusement park, the Göteborg Opera and the shops around Avenyn. The outstanding location offers magnificent views of the harbour in Gothenburg. Three "captain's cabins" high up at the front of the ship offer unique meeting rooms which can be combined with unique accommodation and great food for inspiring meetings. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. The restaurant has sea views and in the summer we have a sundeck where you can enjoy a breakfast coffee or afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet opens at 6 am. Parking spaces are available right outside the hotel. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2012. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Good Morning+ Goteborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Goteborg City Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Goteborg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing