We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accor hotel Gothenburg stay Dec 2011.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Linkoping
1
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Very nice hotel on a boat but to small rooms for more then one people. I don't like to pay for parking. Not safe car park as well. Very nice personel in the reception. Overall a positiv stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 616 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our first time in Gothenburg (and in December). Cold, a bit wet but a nice warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel. The hotel was not busy so was a great place for a quiet break. Clean tidy room with a view of the river. Rooms are not huge but perfectly adequate as you would expect from an IBIS Hotel.

Within an easy walk from the City Centre over a number of busy roads - but easy pedestrian route is available. Close to Central station which gives great access to the superb public transport network. Spent a fair time in Art Galleries and Museums, your ticket costs 40 Kroner but gives access to 5 venues - so great value. Probably will visit again but in the summer next time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in for 1 night during a city break in Gothenburg.

The hotel is nice, we've asked for a room facing the river, which is a good ideia as it's problem quiter than the other facing the street and you get a good view. Only if you get really windy weaher you the ferry swinging... this happened only once during the check in.

The room is ok, good size for a couple. It's no cold, but don't expect to make it really hot if you put the heater on maximum. No problems about cleaning.

You can expect everything that you've got in any other Ibis hotel.

The staff is good and polite with perfect English.

The locations is good too... only 10min to the city centre where it's possible to get a tram or bus to any part of the city.

Around the hotel there only companies, so the streets are really quite, but city in general is really safe.

People in the cafes and shops of Gotenburg have a better English than many cafes and shops in London

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sundsvall, Sweden
1
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Only a 10 minutes walk from the railway station.
Cloes to good communications and shopping.
Tips:Visite the Botanic garden and Christmas market on Liseberg. For extrem shopping, take a tripp to Ullared

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My partner and i stayed at this hotel back in June 2011. First impression as you board the boat is pleasant, the lobby is decorated nicely and the Staff were very pleasant. It wasn't until we reached our room for the next two nights that things went downhill. The room was a little on the small side, which is to be expected from a boat but perfectly adequate for a couple. The cleanliness of the room however left a lot to be desired, the carpets were heavily soiled and the corners dusty. The bathroom whilst appearing clean smelt awful. When we reported the smell to the staff they were very sympathetic and arranged for someone to put some cleaner down the drains to try and remove the smell and would try to arrange a replacement room if possible.
Upon returning from visiting family in the city the smell had appeared to have gone so we spent the night in the room. It was during the night that we discovered our bed was broken, some of the wooden supports under the bed had snapped causing the bed to sag when slept on. Worse still upon flushing the toilet, that familiar bad smell came creeping back.
In the morning we spoke to the staff again, who were once again very polite and tried to do whatever they could, unfortunately the hotel was full so we could not change room so we agreed to put up with the room and arrange something on the price during checkout.
We had breakfast on both days which was pleasant with a selection of cereals, fruit, breads and pastries.
In the end after speaking to the staff at checkout we had the cost of our stay wavered which was a appreciated as we only decided to book the hotel as we expected it to be more comfortable then sleeping on a relatives floor. The idea that we were going to pay for a dirty, smelly, uncomfortable room instead was starting to put a damper on our trip.
Despite our poor experience with this hotel, I would like to stress that the staff were all lovely and alo explained that the Hotel was due to be completely renovated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The rooms in the hotel aren't very big and don't have much storage space at all, but they are clean, comfortable and have the added novelty of being on a boat. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is a fairly short walk from the city centre and most of the attractions of this lovely city (although we walked to the further away ones as well; it's easy to find your way about). The only drawback is that the area the hotel is in is a fairly industrial bit full of offices, so at night if you're walking back from town in the dark there aren't many people about at all; having said that, we felt pretty safe while walking around. If you're on a budget, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, ask for one on the side that faces the river - the view from the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyful_traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

First of all, before i start, it makes me laugh when i have read on a number of reviews that people seem surprised that this hotel is a boat!! What did you think that big boat was on the main picture with "Ibis" written on it? Bizarre!

The rooms are indeed tiny. Even by European standards. The Americans will probably consider them to be matchboxes. There is a very comfortable double bed and a pull down single bed bunk above you (not sure if all rooms have this though...) You can probably hang about 4/5 items in the wardrobe... it is really that small and no shelves. So if you are staying for a few days then you will be living in and out of a suitcase too.
The radiator wasn't hot even when on full. So the room was never "really warm" but not cold either. If you feel the cold easily then it could be an issue.
There is a small desk for your laptop... or sending postcards if you are "old skool" under a small flat screen TV.
The decor needs updating really, they could make it look so much better and utilise the small space so much more if they think about it.
The bathroom is the biggest let down. Had an odour about it most of the time and the grout needs doing. In fact the whole bathroom does. But the shower is quite powerful and always piping hot so there's a plus point for you.

The restaurant is always open for snacks and drinks. I ate here for an evening meal one night, never normally eat at hotel restaurants but was short on time. Lovely and cosy and the food was nice but a little expensive.

The BEST thing about this hotel was indeed the staff. So very helpful, friendly and kind. Nothing was too much hassle. They were patient with us when we practised our Swedish, as we are learning Swedish, and usually repeated/answered everything in Swedish then English to make sure that we understood, instead of opting for the easier option of speaking entirely in English. And it worked! I have come away from a fab 4 day Swedish lesson! They also recommended an excellent restaurant for Swedish style food "Smaka" (do try it - the meatballs are amazing!) So if the staff read this, then thank you so much for your hospitality.

The hotel is located by the "lipstick building" to give you a good landmark. It's about 10-15 mins walk into town or the Nordstan shopping centre. In fact, it's quite a compact and beautiful city so we only ever walked. 20-25 mins to Universeum/Lisberg Amusement Park/Gothia Towers.

As the title suggests, if you are on a budget, then you'll be more than fine. If you have more to spend then there are going to be better and more centrally located hotels. If, like me, you could afford to stretch the budget but hardly spend any time in your hotel room then, again, you'll be fine.

Oh and we got wireless in our room for £10/100 SEK valid for 7 days. Super fast too!

Hej Då!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
666 reviews
0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,232 reviews
0 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#27 of 67 in Gothenburg
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,480 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning+ Goteborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning+ Goteborg City

Address: 15B Gullbergs Strandgata, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Göteborg City)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $127 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning+ Goteborg City 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a ship on the quayside, Good Morning+ offers a lot of hotel for your money, with modern rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning + Göteborg City is a cosy floating hotel right in the heart of Gothenburg, within walking distance of Liseberg amusement park, the Göteborg Opera and the shops around Avenyn. The outstanding location offers magnificent views of the harbour in Gothenburg. Three "captain's cabins" high up at the front of the ship offer unique meeting rooms which can be combined with unique accommodation and great food for inspiring meetings. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. The restaurant has sea views and in the summer we have a sundeck where you can enjoy a breakfast coffee or afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet opens at 6 am. Parking spaces are available right outside the hotel. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2012. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Good Morning+ Goteborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Goteborg City Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Goteborg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing