We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean - value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, clean - value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My partner and I + another couple stayed here for a long weekend. We chose the place because it was central and we'd read it was clean and reasonably priced. - All true.
We asked for a room which looked out on the river - and would suggest you do the same - the railway station is not far away (even though I have not tried a room on the other side of the ship, its better to face the other way - also because of the view).

The rooms are small - but we were not there to spend time in the room, but to explore the city - citybikes are not far away and is a great way to explore the area.
The bedsheets were clean, and so was the bathroom - allthough the bathroom looks a bit outdated. Remember to bring shampoo/conditioner + showergel - its not provided.

Breakfast is optional and costs 85 SEK - ok value, and an average selection: different breads, muesli/cereal, spreads, coffee/tea, juice. The good thing: its convenient.

Even though the hotel is on a barge/ship, you do not feel the waves.

They do provide internet, but its not free - which is a minus.

I will definetely come back to this hotel when visiting this city next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room - 2nd/3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    297
    123
    22
    7
See reviews for
62
239
53
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

An interesting looking hotel in a part of town that is a bit secluded, if you are visiting the immediate surrounding area, then it is fine but if you need to do sightseeing in Gothenburg, it is a bit out of the way, the city is small and the hotel is only 10 minutes walk to down town Gothenburg, but it is not an enjoyable walk, a waste of ten minutes if you ask me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed here fior a weekend with my girlfriend. The rooms are small but good - ask for a cabin with a river view. Staff very helpful. Location is good, we went in winter but would be better in summer. Boat is situated in semi-industrial area 10mins walk from main part. Dark at night but absolutely fine. Single female travellers may get a little freaked by the walk though - lots of busses.

Airport bus from city airport is fantastic and you can see the hotel on the journey - very near to the central bus station (10-15 minute walk).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Service was very good and friendly. The room was Ok for a night or so but to small for a longer stay. There was no proper chair and only a small table. Looking at TV was best from the bed. Too warm in the room and too cold in the bathroom. The resturant was OK but it looked more like a workers shed then a resturant. However the food and the service was good. The lokation was perfect for me, close to the work site and the central station and with a nice view overloooking the river.

The best is the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Did not like the offer by front desk staff to pay during the check-in (before even seeing the room). Apparently some people just leave after seeing the size of the rooms. Price was reasonable though. Not a very pleasant walk to the city during the cold part of the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a night. I booked it for the novelty value of staying on a boat. The rooms are unsurprisingly like a cabin and consequently a bit on the small side. Although both the room and bathroom were clean there was a faint smell of rotten egg in the bathroom coming from the plughole. The main criticism is that the radiator did very little to keep us warm and the duvet was very thin. My partner was cold all night and he's usually a person who is prone to being too warm! The staff were really polite and friendly. The breakfast was delicious although I feel there could be more of a choice (only really bread, eggs, meatballs, yogurt and cereal to choose from). I would recommend that if you choose to stay here make sure your room is on the river side, not the car park side as we got a lovely view of the carpark!! It is a good ten/fifteen minute walk into the city centre which could be an issue if you have mobility problems. However we found it was quite a nice walk along the river and a good way to see different things. It is a good hotel to stay at if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.7 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning+ Goteborg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning+ Goteborg City

Property: Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Address: 15B Gullbergs Strandgata, Gothenburg 411 04, Sweden (Formerly ibis Styles Göteborg City)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning+ Goteborg City 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a ship on the quayside, Good Morning+ offers a lot of hotel for your money, with modern rooms and friendly, personal service. Free WiFi and breakfast are also included in your stay. That's what we call good value. Good Morning + Göteborg City is a cosy floating hotel right in the heart of Gothenburg, within walking distance of Liseberg amusement park, the Göteborg Opera and the shops around Avenyn. The outstanding location offers magnificent views of the harbour in Gothenburg. Three "captain's cabins" high up at the front of the ship offer unique meeting rooms which can be combined with unique accommodation and great food for inspiring meetings. The restaurant has a cosy atmosphere and generous opening times, with food available to order 24 hours a day. The restaurant has sea views and in the summer we have a sundeck where you can enjoy a breakfast coffee or afternoon tea. The breakfast buffet opens at 6 am. Parking spaces are available right outside the hotel. The hotel was fully refurbished in 2012. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Morning+ Goteborg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Goteborg City Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Gothenburg
Ibis Hotel Goteborg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing