We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good in parts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Fine Art (Goteborgs Konstmuseum)

Museum of Fine Art (Goteborgs Konstmuseum)
Ranked #10 of 116 things to do in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This had some interesting Nordic exhibits, with some good stuff by Carl Larsson, although there was less there than we thought, given the size of the place. Unfortunately the Hasselblad gallery was being refitted at the time of our visit, but it didn't look great from what we saw. The cafe was also closed for maintenance on that day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    186
    44
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best collections of Nordic art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This museum has a very good selection of Flemish and Dutch masters as well as French impressionists. However, the main attraction is on the top floor, where you find a phenomenal selection of Nordic art. The museum is reasonably priced and centrally located.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SjurOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Must see! Many interesting items by local/Scandinavian artists, which cannot be seen in other places

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting sculpture, wide range of work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We started our day of sightseeing in Gothenburg here (and in the associated Hasselblad photo museum, which we found a little disappointing). In the art museum itself, we particularly appreciated the Swedish work including by local 19th-early 20th century painters but were impressed by the wide range of international paintings in the collection and especially by the contemporary sculpture/installation works from both local and international artists. The "go:" card gets you free admission.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank college_prof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the top floor featuring the colorists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was a nice sized museum that even attracted my teenagers.
They had the Andy Warhol exhibit when we visited. The downstairs smelled of the homebaked cookies made in the cafe!
Under 25 is free, which I think is great to encourage younger people to enjoy the arts. Had a great collection of different periods. Would recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Art (Goteborgs Konstmuseum) also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Museum of Fine Art (Goteborgs Konstmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing