We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel to stay the night”
Review of Scandic Backadal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Backadal
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An ok hotel to stay the night”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not in a great location, it's situated right next to the motorway north of the city centre. If you have a car, then it's an ok place to spend the night, the rooms are ok, most of them recently renovated. Friendly service, free parking, and an ok restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida C, Manager at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Grokhe

I’m glad you have taken the time to write a comment about us regarding your previous stay at Scandic Backadal. Next time I can recommend you to try the buss, Grön Express. Buss stop is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel and the bus ride is only 9 minutes to the city center of Gothenburg. Im traveling with this bus every day and it´s great. Thank you again for responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    240
    135
    32
    24
See reviews for
281
89
11
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August as part of our tour of Denmark and Sweden. Good hotel that is clean with good food and loads of parking in a secure garage. The usual comfortable Scandic beds, although a little far out of the city there is a good bus service into the city we will stay again I am sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida C, Chef at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Gracudd

I’m glad you have taken the time to write a comment about us regarding your previous stay at Scandic Backadal.

Hope to see you agin soon!

Best regards
Frida at Scandic backadal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff great and very helpful. Food average and limited with no tea and coffee in rooms. Drinks expensive but the rooms were clean and adequate? Again good central location in the city with most interests walkable

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zdardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frida C, Chef at Scandic Backadal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Zdardi

I’m glad you have taken the time to write a comment about us regarding your previous stay at Scandic Backadal.

We are looking into reducing the prices for the wines, so next time you arrive I hope its changed.

Thank you agin for writing about us.
I hope we will se you soon again, your welcome back

Best regards
Frida at Scandic Backadal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We took a spontaneous trip to Liseberg. Found Scandic Backadal purely by chance - The first hotel on the highway close to the city. Turned out to be a great choice. A comfortable double bed and two pull out beds. Good people at the front desk. Adequate parking. 10 mins drive to Liseberg. The only thing that I missed was coffee maker in the room. The price was excellent. It was Kr. 700 lower than the other hotels that offered rooms for 4 people.

Highly recommend this hotel for families that want separate beds for their children and are spending most of their day at Liseberg anyway.

Room Tip: I am not sure about the other floors. But in the 3rd floor, to go to some of the rooms, you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurtdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked the hotel before I left US.Check in was easy. I was assigned room 716 on June 5. On June 8 the tv stopped working. It took two phone calls and a visit to the front desk to get maintenance to come to room. The tv could not be fixed till next day. The next day when I went to the front desk Carolina was nice enough to move me to room 714. A few hours later I got a frantic email from my wife that she could not reach me by phone. I then discovered that the phone in the room did not work. I was then asked to move to 719 where both the tv and phone worked. I will be here till Thursday June 14. The laundry service is not available on weekends. I turned my laundry in on Saturday and got it on late afternoon Monday. The staff is friendly but not always helpful. Hopefully once the construction is completed things will improve. Unlike the US rooms do not have coffee pots, refrigerators or air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel was under renovation during or stay.

Facade of hotel is covered in scaffold and works externally appear to be nearing completion, this does however mean that any view from the rooms is of initially the scaffolding immediately outside.

We had asked for adjoining and connecting rooms, upon arrival we did not get these, however the roms had just been refurbished and were next to each other so no issue, would have been nice however to have been prewarned that he hotel does not have these kind of rooms when we booked.

Rooms as stated above had just been refurbished, however there was a bizarre odour in on of the bathrooms (wetroom layout) that despite efforts we could'nt disperse all weekend, there was no customary fan linked to the bathroom light as you get in most hotel rooms, so remained steamy and stinky....

Despite making a big thing of the Childrens facilites at this hotel, our children did not recieve their "welcome gift", the childrens room was as follows:
Some tatty toys that were not overtly engaging, a TV for showing kids films that was not on, a games console that was not on, some sheets of paper and broken crayons.

Fortunately we had not planned / counted on leaving our kids here to entertain themselves, however if were that way inclined the kids would have been pretty bored, also the hotel is effectively located in an industrial area, opposite a truckstop, next to a petrol Station and as such not the safest environment to leave your kids unsupervised, especially as the area is located in the reception area where anyone can enter (not insinuating that truckers are at all a risk to kids!).

The Breakfast Buffet on the Saturday and Sunday morning was of a good standard with plenty of choice (Eggs, Bacon, Pastries, Cold cheese's/meat, Fruit, yogurt, herring! etc), Busy but the staff kept the buffet topped up and the tables clean, we had no problem getting a table.
However on the monday Morning, despite being much quieter, the food was tepid / dried out and not kept topped up.

Food options on site are limited with ready made salads available in the small shop or the onsite restaurant which is priced higher than most restaurants in town, unfortunately the only other immediate options are a Mcdonalds/subway opposite or a hotdog from the adjacent Petrol Station.

The Gym was pretty well stocked and not too busy, the pool very narrow and probably a bit small for more that 2 people wanting to swim lengths.

Would say Ideal for a business stopover for someone driving, or for a quick stopover enroute for a Family, otherwise not inspiring for a Family for more than 1 night.

Transport links are very good however if using public transport as 15 minutes to town centre / attractions.

Room Tip: ask for one of the renovated rooms, I would suggest a room to the rear of the hotel would prevent no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Brown1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liège
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have just returned from a four-days trip at this place and have started planning for next trip with my family. Everything was perfect here and I was always looking for such place to relax with my family. Rooms, staff and food all was the best. Will return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
605 reviews
6.7 mi away
Scandic Molndal
Scandic Molndal
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
529 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
53 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Backadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Property: Scandic Backadal
Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing