We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just because I had to”
Review of Scandic Backadal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Backadal
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is located close to a business relationship and does not meet my general expectations. Rooms are clean enough but they really need some renovation. Breakfast is worse than Scandic in general (I hate the Scandic breakfasts; really "factory") and the restaurant (if you can call it a restaurant) gives poor quality with price at a level not in correlation with the food. Good service in the reception with smiling personnel is the only positive about this hotel (except the location id you have business in the area).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Backadal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 562 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is a bit north of Gothenburg, so it might not be the best choice if you're looking to visit the centre of town. It is convenient for the E6 motorway, however, so if you are travelling through Gothenburg it's a good choice.

The hotel is easy to find and also provides free parking for guests. You have to park out front first and check in to get your room key before you can access the car park (as the room key is required to open the doors). Check-in is very quick and easy and the staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful.

The room is pretty standard for a modern hotel. You have the features you would expect: TV, phone, ironing board. WiFi is included in the room rate. Also included is the use of the spa and fitness facilities. I didn't use them myself, so can't comment on the quality of them.

Breakfast is excellent. There is a very wide choice of food and the quality is very good.

Overall a very good hotel, but if you're visiting central Gothenburg I would recommend staying somewhere closer to town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the motorway are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReluctantFlyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is under renovation, and that we were not disclosed. There was a lot of renovation work in the weekend.

The hotel was generally poor cleaning in public premises. There was a gum on the carpet in the hallway when we arrived, it was there too when we went. The hotel is characterized by being older and worn. Staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful.

The rooms were clean and simple with good beds. The cleaning was excellent, and the same with maids. They did a great job!

Located just outside Gothenburg, and you need a car to get it out. It is a quiet area and you sleep well.

It was good and breakfast buffet. It contained everything we could wish for. Starting too early on weekends, but keeping perhaps a little short for those who want to sleep longer than 9

The restaurant was bad and expensive food. The meat was not properly cooked, the potatoes were cold and lacked else on the plate. The waiter was never visited our table after the order arrived at the table, even though he had forgotten the food to one. He gave us no attention, so we spent 45 minutes to get the bill paid. We paid this at the reception afterwards. Gave way up the restaurant.

Rooms are generally small, so I recommend checking with the hotel directly if there are any larger room availability.

Do not book online! The price you get when you call can be cheaper, also does not order online either. Notifies about availability when it is not. Allows you to even order, you end up with ordered room you get.

Room Tip: There are uninformed about this, but the hotel chain has its own teenagerooms! Travelling with older...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great breakfast buffet. Ordinary rooms. Good staff. Some distace to downtown but it is reflected in price. Clean room. Fair restaurant but not allways open. Late arrival is no problem if notice is given. Easy check out. Easy booking via internet. Well established and trusted chain.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location of the hotel is I'd say - average. Hotel is located a bit in the suburbs, next to the main road. If you have a car it's great. Otherwise it's not bad either, as you can reach the town center very easily using the public transportation. The room was pretty spacious, very nice and comfortable, however - there was kind of a blackboard on one of the walls. I don't understand a reason, as the room wasn't big enough to lead a presentation or something like that. :) Breakfast was very good. Staff kind and helpful. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stay here frequently for business and am always impressed by the friendliness of the staff (even the housekeeping!). The daily dinner buffet offers a good meal for a very reasonable price. Nothing fancy, just a nice plate of food after a hard day's work. Breakfast buffet is nice and varied. The regular rooms are a bit outdated though... Very classy in the nineties, but not really up to standard today. Furniture looks a bit worn out, but is clean and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Good breakfast with lots of choice. Comfortable rooms and good service. Clean and near a bus stop with a journey of 15 minutes to the centre of town. A bit expensive though, considering it is not in the centre.

Room Tip: Our room was beside a service elevator, which was quite noisy. Best to ask for a room that is not be...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bendsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
621 reviews
6.7 mi away
Scandic Molndal
Scandic Molndal
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
542 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
6.5 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#49 of 67 in Gothenburg
54 reviews
2.9 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Backadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $118 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing