We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Hotel, though away from the Central, well-connected by bus..”
Review of Scandic Backadal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Backadal
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neat Hotel, though away from the Central, well-connected by bus..”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hotel is clean and serves nice breakfast. Two nights of stay was comfortable, would have been better, if free tea-coffee facility would have been in the room and not at the reception..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    227
    132
    30
    23
See reviews for
257
86
10
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Pretty agree with previous reviewers. Good things are breakfast, parking, kids playroom, free Internet and a service of course. Not so good - room size, lack of air conditioning (however in August it doesn't seem to be a problem).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel while passing by several times before, many years ago. This time we booked 2 rooms, being 4 adults and 1 child.

The breakfast was great, as ever, and it is nice to have 1-2 kids for free in the room as well. It had ben a very warm day (first weekend in aug), so our rooms were very warm when we checked in. The rooms, beds and bathrooms were up to the standard, but the traffic noise from the highway was a nuisance. We had to sleep with wide open windows, to try to cool the rooms down. OK hotel when You are passing by or staying 2 days in Giothenburg, but nothing more. Slow lifts with low capacity, while the indoor parking is a real bonus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursus_Polaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We travelled as a family of four - where the youngest was barely two months old. We booked a Family Room, which was really a big joke judging by the size. There were two fold-down bunk beds, but no cot for our youngest like we ordered. However, the receptionist was very helpful and immediately sent one to our room. He also provided us with a fan to cool off since there was no air conditioning in the room. That got us through the night since it was really hot. Also, rooms in the hotel weren't exactly sound-proof, so we heard every little (big) slam or sneeze even if it was on the upper floor. In addition, there was this poster on the wall telling guests that this was a Family oriented hotel, and noisy kids was all part of the routine. Well. Although travelling with kids ourselves, we really felt intimidated by the extent to which some took this a little too literally. If you are looking for a nice, cosy roadside stay just outside Gothenburg, then stay clear of this place. A huge plus for good breakfast, though. It came with gluten free products, I didn't even have to ask for it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The rooms have no ventilation, small windows which open towards noisy E-6.

We stayed there during days with cool weather. But if we had stayed there on hot days, we would not have survived.

Breakfast was very good.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Scandic Backadal is one of the nicer hotels in the Scandic hotel chain. It's modern, clean, & resonably quiet. They have a great breakfast buffet, & offer free parking. Since it's situated on the island of 'Hisingen', it's a bit off from Gothenburg city center. However, it only takes a few minutes by car to get there. All in all, a pleasant business stay (every time).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petter-Niklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Good hotel within 15 mins of City Centre.
Breakfast buffet excellent choices, well maintained in terms of cleaned and food brought out fresh.
Rooms standard, nice and clean excellent free wireless.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
6.7 mi away
Scandic Molndal
Scandic Molndal
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#25 of 67 in Gothenburg
579 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Quality Hotel 11
Quality Hotel 11
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,049 reviews
2.9 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,245 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Backadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Backadal

Property: Scandic Backadal
Address: Backebolsvagen | Hisings Backa, Gothenburg 422 53, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Backadal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven-story Hotel on the island of Hisingen, 5 km north of town center via Highway E6. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Backadal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Backadal Gothenburg
Scandic Backadal Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing