We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Rubinen
Nearby Hotels
Spar Hotel Garda(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
$120
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
First Hotel G(Gothenburg)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gothia Towers(Gothenburg)
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avalon Hotel(Gothenburg)
$163
$150
Avalon Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,184)
Filter reviews
1,184 results
Traveler rating
296
465
269
110
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
465
269
110
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrooftop bareconomy roommain avenueclose to shopsnice hotelwithin walking distancerestaurants and barsfresh fruitnice staffthe ground floorbreakfast was amazingparking housecentre of towncentral locationbreakfast roomfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 1,184 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice location on the main street of Gothenburg, within walking distance to most things to see. Friendly staff, and rooms are the standard Scandic rooms; small, but clean and ok. Restaurant by the lobby was under renovation when we were there, but the breakfast restaurant worked fine. Parking in front of the hotel was difficult, but that might be because of the ongoing restoration of the facade.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grokhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Grokhe

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! As you menitoned we are undergoing a large renovation. We welcome you back here in May next year when we have a brand new lobby, restaurants, breakfast and rooftop bar!

Have a nice week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at the Scandic Rubinen in early November. We had a pleasant stay, staff were also very friendly and willing to help with our queries.

The location of the hotel is brilliant for the centre of Gothenburg, with most museums and amenities within walking distance, or a short hop on the tram.

The hotel was undergoing renovation during our stay, but we stayed from Wednesday night to Monday morning, and the work only woke us up once, which is pretty good going for such major work.

Bed was comfortable, room was clean, however our bin in the main bedroom was not emptied for the whole week (the bathroom bin was)

There was a good selection at breakfast, however was more suited to continental european appetites than British apettites. There was no selection of normal tea available, but plenty of flavoured tea. The food that was suited to our appetites was nicely cooked and always at the right temperature.

Overall a hotel I'd recommend to others to stay at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trusse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Trusse

I am happy to hear the you enjoyed the stay here at Rubinen. Hope you have to possibility to come back when the renovation is finished in May and se our brand new rooms!
We will also have a look at the tea selection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent a few days at Scandic Rubinen, and it is quite a noisy place but what can you expect when you book a prime centre location. The Bar is exciting and makes some great cocktails. Definitely worth staying if you plan to have a fun night in Gothenburg. If you want sleep quality, book Scandic Europa instead.
Staff very friendly and service minded as usual in Sweden.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Je

Thank you for taking the time to write! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to have you back here next year when we have a newly renovated hotel with a new and even more amazing bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although undergoing some refurbishment it didn't interfere with sleeping patterns.On the positive side excellent welcome by the staff; breakfast plenty of choices, room decent size and not cramped at all.Unfortunately mattress really thin padded which spoiled my sleep, also bathroom mat highly desirable but not available.Having said that I am sure after refurbishment is done with the downstairs bar would look super.As regards location you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear csant
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment! I am happy to heat that you enjoyed your stay! A bit unfortunate with the mattress. We will look into this! As you say the hotel will look great after the refurbishment and we are gladly welcoming you back to se the change!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was in the center of Aveny, the main street of Göteborg with shopping and restaurants/bars. Close to many different lines of buses and trams. It's a bit noisy to stay in the side facing the street. You will hear non-stop tram noises and buses till late at night and early in the morning. Hotel staff was super nice though they changed me to the room to the back side, which there was a construction site there also. However, much quieter that side but if you get up in the morning, you will not want to open your curtain cause you will have to say hello to the construction workers passing by also. Good breakfast selection! Very clean room and nice rooftop bar if you come in the summer time. One of the best Scandic I have stayed in Göteborg for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam D, Manager at Scandic Rubinen, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Kat

It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Rubinen. I am also happy to inform you that the renovation you mentioned will be finished this spring and we will have 100 brand new rooms:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews