We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small room, lovely hotel and great location though”
Review of Scandic Rubinen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Rubinen
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very small room, lovely hotel and great location though”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We had room 415 and although it was very very small, it was sufficient for us for our city break. When we arrived the room was very warm so we had to turn the radiator down - not a big deal really. The bed is tiny - I would say smaller than a double bed, and you only get one pillow each which again are really small. On our first night we had to use the cushion from the chair in the room, but on the second night we asked for more pillows and the hotel staff brought them. The room was clean and comfortable apart from that! Being pregnant I had asked for a quiet room. We were given one at the front of the hotel and despite arriving at 1.30am on a Friday night, the noise levels were fine.

The hotel is really nice, and the buffet breakfasts are great. It's a bit chaotic, but there is a wide range of food (bacon, beans, eggs, porridge, cheeses and meats, breads, yoghurt and muesli etc) so there should be something to suit everyone. They even have gluten free cereals! The staff on reception were really helpful, and as we checked out early we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel until the evening and make the most of our time in the city. I'd go back, but perhaps upgrade to a slightly bigger room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joromunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    373
    198
    68
    20
See reviews for
178
262
40
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I really didn't enjoy my stay at this hotel. The double bed was the smallest we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a few). The duvet was even smaller and didn't even cover the 2 of us!! The room was really warm - I dread to think what it would be like if the weather was warm. It was also very noisy as it was very central which made sleeping hard (I know this is not the hotels fault!). The breakfast was great and I liked the fact that the rooms had individual names (ours was orangutan!!). Overall would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed there 3 nights, hotel is very average for that price, small rooms, small beds (in our double room was 160 bed), bathrooms are rather small with an old bath-tub and the glass wall which wasn't clean, you could see 1 cm dust on a rubber parts and broken shower handle..not nice in a 4* hotel.
Besides..
Hotel is very well situated in the city center, walking distance to the most of attractions and restaurants/bars, lovely staff, delicious breakfast - more then average! free wi fi and nice bar/restaurant.
If you care about location and good breakfast only it's ok hotel if you expect someting more find something else, there is plenty of hotels in the city.

Room Tip: take a room with a boring parking view but is much more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blomsterflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Big queue at check in, very ordinary room with small bathroom and very small weak shower, not a great bed, large selection of good stuff at breakfast, good evening meal but expensive for what it was. I’d certainly try anywhere else next time. Maybe if you had to be dead centre this would be the choice – not for any other reason.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in a single economy room for 5 nights while in Gothenburg on business. The room was as described on website, very clean and a comfortable size for one person (king single sized bed). When checking in, the lovely reception staff gave me a choice of rooms (level and view). I chose a room which looked out on the Avenyn (main street) so it was a little noisy on Friday and Saturday nights - though the staff did warn me of this. I truly didn't mind, but if this might bother you, ask for a room which faces the other way.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with many healthy options (I've never seen a cereal selection like it, with options to add linseeds, pepitas and sunflower seeds! yum!). Mini bar prices were reasonable.

Location was fantastic, 10 minutes walk to centre of town and Haga, 5 minutes walk to convention centre. I would highly recommend staying here to other visitors to Gothenburg.

Room Tip: If worried about noise, ask for room not facing the Avenyn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly6034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The is located on the "main" avenue of Gothenburg. There are lot's of restaturants, shops and some sights next it. for example Haga is within 15 minutes walk. Also rental bikes are available next to hotel.Hotel staff is very friendly.

The rooms are very basic scandinavian style.Clean but nothing special.Wifi works ok in the rooms.
The breakfast at the hotel is just excellent. There are many different orcanigic food choices to make sure that you get a good start for the day.
Hotel has small gym which apparently is in free use for the quests.However they don't really advertise this anywhere.
Rental bicycles are also availble next to hotel and the city is full of palces to reutrn or take a new bike. the bike rental is free if you return it witrhin 30 minutes.

The parking in the next by garage is quite expensive even if you purchase ticket from the hotel.However there is big outdoor parking place (heden) near the hotel which is not too expensive if plan to keep car there just by nights.

Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProEtContra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Top notch staff, unbeatable location and nice roof terrace but the room was not a 4* standard and despite being more/less in line with the local market it still felt overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Rubinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Rubinen

Property: Scandic Rubinen
Address: Kungsportsavenyn 24, Gothenburg 400 14, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Rubinen 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Rubinen is located on Avenyn in central Gothenburg, a stone's throw from the famous bronze sculpture of Poseidon at Gotaplatsen and Kungsportsplatsen. Scandic Rubinen's central location in Gothenburg makes the hotel an ideal place for those who want to be close to Gothenburg's culture, shopping and city life. From our hotel you're also within a walking distance from many of Gothenburg's most popular attractions such as Liseberg amusement park, Universeum Science Centre and the Rohsska Museum. After expansion and renovation in spring 2014, Rubinen has a new design by DOOS architects. The interior has an urban feel and a homely elegance with a mix of colours, shape and details. Facility Our hotel is a natural meeting place in Gothenburg and we offer something to suit all tastes. Ruby Bar is Scandic Rubinen's very own living room and is open day and night. Both hotel guests and Gothenburg locals dine here, and our bar terrace is a great place to sit and watch the city entertainment. Our very own Roof Top bar is located on the 7th floor, with views over the rooftops of Gothenburg and fashionable Avenyn. When you stay with us, you can keep up your workouts in our gym or unwind in our relaxation suite with sauna. Our completely new conference and events floor offers facilities for 2-180 people, and events can be customised for up to 300 people all on one floor. Next to our meeting facilities, there's also an inviting terrace where both fresh air and a drink can be enjoyed by private parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Rubinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Rubinen Gothenburg
Scandic Rubinen Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing