We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I loved this hotel. I had a single room, that was quite spacious. The location was great to get to Ullevi for a concert. It is close the public transport and in walking distance to Avenyn (shop, restaurants). The room was clean and very nice. Breakfast was good and overall I really enjoyed to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi, thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. It means a lot! I am so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good time in Gothenburg. I hope you will come back to Gotheburg and visit us again, please don't be a stranger if you do return.
Have a great week!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    359
    250
    102
    48
See reviews for
267
243
30
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a really nice stay at Opalen with my family, two nights in august. Well located, easy access to parking, Liseberg, Universeum, avenyn and other sites. The room was not perfectly cleaned, dust under the bed, on the vent in the bathroom etc.

I like the breakfast at Scandic- generally, but the scrambled eggs, seriously, is it really made from eggs? I was not super impressed by the childrens breakfast either. But overall, really good. We did not have dinner at the restaurant, but it looked really nice, and with a meny I liked!

We had a room at the top floor, a superior plus room, well worth the money. By the looks of it, the rooms on the "old floors" are not that great.

Would recomend it to others going to Gothenburg!

Room Tip: Really, go for the top floors, or not at all! We had 1326, top floor. Really perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennieralen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write a response about your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast wasn't as good as you would have hoped it to be. I will let the breakfast staff know about your comments.

I am glad to hear that you were happy about your room and that you enjoyed your stay in Gothenburg. Have a wonderful week and enjoy the last days of summer!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nothing like spending $180.00 US for a hostel-like room that only has a single bed and a pull-out couch. The room was not entirely clean, a used wet towel left in the room, along with a dirty glass. Seems that we got bumped because of the handball tournament, although we had booked and payed for a double room 6 months prior to our trip. We still had to pay for an upgrade for the second night. That room was an improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as good as you had hoped it to be. I am especially sorry that your room was not clean. I will certainly pass this on to both our housekeeping department and our hotel manager.
I hope the rest of your summer is great and that you will return to Gothenburg again.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at the Scandic Hotel Opalen for a weekend this July. The location is excellent with Liseberg, Ullevi and Avenyn within walking distance.
The room was quite small but nice and the bed was really comfortable, the only negative thing about the room was that the trash bin hadn't been cleaned for a while by the looks of it.
Breakfast was good with the standard offerings. All in all it was a very good stay and the staff was really friendly and service minded.
I forgot the charger to my iPad in the room when we checked out but two days later i received a package in the mail with the charger without even having to call the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your response and kind words. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry about the bin, I will tell our housekeeping department to pay extra attention to the bins so they won't forget them.
I hope your summer is good and hope to see you again!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Scandic Opalen is a great hotel located in Gothenberg Sweden. Traveled as Erick Matsanza. There is access to Road and Railway transport, I did the walking most of the time. From where I was staying there was a great view through the window, The staff friendly and helpful.

It was just wow! Need I say the ambiance, still memorable todate. Bicycles available to ride around the city, There is a cinema close if you are a movie lover. Great location, great treatment by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfritageTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and wonderful response. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it means a lot to all in the staff that you found them friendly and helpfull. I hope you will come back to Gothenburg and that you will come and see us again. Have a beautiful summer!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the scandic opalen whilst on a business trip, found the staff to be very friendly and polite. View from my room on the 12th floor was amazing . Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the reception area but fine in the room. Would definitely recommend if you are visiting Gothenburg.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stu77_sue77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your constructive criticism
regarding our wifi, we will do our best so it will work better in the lobbyarea in the future.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to us and our beautiful city soon. Have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Opalen for 6 nights. We were on the 8 floor. We had two double beds which were pretty comfortable. The room had hardwood floors. The room was pretty small but comfortable. The bathroom did not have a tub but the shower was nice and big. We stayed in late July which is one of their warmest months. The room did not have AC but did have an adjustment on the wall for air circulation. The room was not as cool as we would have liked it to be. We ended up buying a small table top fan which did the job. We had to put the fan together and needed a screw driver, which we didn't have, so I went down the the front desk and explained my situation so they sent up their maintenance man to put together the fan. Which I thought was very nice of them!
The breakfast they have is included in the price. IT IS AMAZING!! VERY GOOD! They even had the world famous Swedish pancakes, which were gone in a very short time.
The hotel is situated in a convenient location, close to restaurants,transportation and entertainment.
Scandic Opalen is a nice hotel with great customer service and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obmarcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malin W, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi, I just wanted to take some time to thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though the rooms were a little bit on the
warm side. We will definently take this under deep consideration. It is nice to hear that you got to see Gothenburg under a sunny day, it's when it's the most beautiful but
unfotunately I have to say as a native we don't get to see it to often. There's a reason why Gothenburg is affectionately called "Little London". I hope you will have a reason
to come back and visit us and try our pancakes again. Enjoy you summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing