We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean, but very small and not inviting.
I would recommend if you are going to have meeting at the place, for convenience is ok.
If I would go in holiday I would look for a hotel with larger rooms.
Food is ok and many options.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edisoncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva ett omdöme om oss på Tripadvisor!

Vissa av våra rum är den mindre storleken men vi har ett stort utbud med olika varianter och storlekar på rum som skall passa allt från affärsresenären till familjen. Hoppas vi kan få en chans att ta emot dig med familj i ett av våra större rum om er semsester skulle bära till Göteborg.

Härligt att höra att ni tycket menyn var bra.

Önskar er en fortsatt trevlig dag.

Vänligen Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    377
    262
    106
    51
See reviews for
284
251
31
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vanersborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Scandic Hotel Opalen is a nice hotel, in the central part of Gothenburg. We had a room on the penthouse floor and had a great view over the sportarena Ullevi. The breakfast buffe was big and it was no problem to get glutenfree bread.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva ett omdöme om oss på Tripadvisor!

Härligt att höra att ni trivdes hos oss, varmt välkomna tillbaka.

Önskar er en fortsatt trevlig dag.

Vänligen Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel. This time I am a bit disappointed.
The hotel is very crowded today. There was not enough space in the restaurant today so I had to take dinner outside.
But what really annoyed me is the parking solution. The garage is by far too small for this hotel. I am wondering if even half of all the guests get a chance to park their car in the garage?
So after a 6 hours road trip I had to find a spot in the area outside of the hotel. Not easy and not cheap either -> Remember we are located in the City center. This is really annoying!!
To carry luggage etc from the parking spot all the way to the hotel? This is exactly what I don't want after a demanding road trip.today.On the other hand I want my car kept in a safe environment overnight. Especially now in the middle of the Swedish winter...
So better pre-book a parking space or check with them if they have space available for your car and when you are planning to stay here.
My room on the 3rd floor (room 321) is a bit old fashioned and could need a renovation.
I have experienced better stays with Scandic.
The only positive thing I have to report about today, is the friendly staff at the reception.

Room Tip: I have heard that the top floor rooms are a bit more fresh than the ones on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva ett omdöme om oss på Tripadvisor!

Jag är verkligen ledsen för att vi inte kunde tillgodose ditt parkeringsbehov vid din vistelse, tyvärr har vi lite för få parekeringsplatser i dagsläget.

Tack för den värmande kommentaren om att du upplevde personalen som trevlig.

Jag önskar dig en fortsatt bra dag.

Vänligen Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last six months as its close to the office.

My second stay was much better as I had a quieter room.

The biggest problem is the single rooms - they are so small!

Breakfast is good and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MetalWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpalenGuestRelations, Manager at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

tack för att du tog dig tid att göra ett omdöme om oss på Tripadvisor!

Tyvärr är vissa av våra rum av den mindre storleken men det som är glädjande är att vi har många olika varianter av rum vilket ökar möjligheten att välja efter eget behov.

Jag tackar varmast för kommentaren om att personalen känns vänlig och hjälpsam, jag hoppas det kan få dig att överväga att bo hos oss igen.

Vänligen Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed one night in Scandic Opalen in September. I was lucky enough to get a room from the 12th floor. The view from the room was just excellent and practically one wall of the room was nothing else but a big window, the stadium was visible from the room.

The room decoration was according to the latest Scandinavian style. Very, very simple and modern but still cosy. Also, everything looked to be brand new. Overall, the room was perfect and silent. I had an excellent sleep in this room.

The stay was finished with a free breakfast with a lot of choices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel a couple of times, as it is conveniently located when I am in town. Last visit was outstadning, I got a room at one of the top floors that I did not know even existed at this hotel.

It was more like a luxury penthouse studio apartment than the room I am usually assigned.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors - you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our room on one of the top floors had a great view. The entire wall was a window, overlooking the stadium. The room was quiet an comfortable. Free breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices. Location is good, just a few blocks walk to the Avenue. Seems common in Sweden to have two twin beds pushed together, a bit unusual for an American but we found the same elsewhere in Sweden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#44 of 67 in Gothenburg
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing