We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Gothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed one night in Scandic Opalen in September. I was lucky enough to get a room from the 12th floor. The view from the room was just excellent and practically one wall of the room was nothing else but a big window, the stadium was visible from the room.

The room decoration was according to the latest Scandinavian style. Very, very simple and modern but still cosy. Also, everything looked to be brand new. Overall, the room was perfect and silent. I had an excellent sleep in this room.

The stay was finished with a free breakfast with a lot of choices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel a couple of times, as it is conveniently located when I am in town. Last visit was outstadning, I got a room at one of the top floors that I did not know even existed at this hotel.

It was more like a luxury penthouse studio apartment than the room I am usually assigned.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors - you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our room on one of the top floors had a great view. The entire wall was a window, overlooking the stadium. The room was quiet an comfortable. Free breakfast in the morning with a lot of choices. Location is good, just a few blocks walk to the Avenue. Seems common in Sweden to have two twin beds pushed together, a bit unusual for an American but we found the same elsewhere in Sweden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Superior room with fresh decor in the top floor. Nice views of Gothenburg. Well located a short distance from the center near Liseberg and Ullevi.. Easy to park.
Boring breakfast as in most other Scandic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeSundbyberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hotel is fine with excellent location. Breakfast was pretty standard, but it managed the soft boiled eggs to perfection. However, the service provided (by Monica Hansson in particular) was world class!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STIGKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed with friends in this hotel a weekend in August. We were all very happy with the choice.
Nice hotel, very quiet, very friendly staff. Bed was very comfortable and the buffet breakfast amazing. Overall a good choice

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phileas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I visited Gothenburg with my boyfriend for a long weekend and Scandic was just what we needed. We were in a newly refurbished room which had a great view over the city, the bed was so comfortable I was tempted to just order breakfast to the room in the mornings. But I had to get up as the breakfast buffet is amazing (as always with Scandic). We ate there one evening as the weather wasn't great. The burger was delicious. The hotel is extremely child friendly so it's not exactly "romantic!" but we did expect that during school holidays! Overall, I really have to thank Scandic for a really great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $118 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing