We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Gothenburg!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Gothenburg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent hotel centrally locatate close to restaurants, shopping and the familly attraction Liseberg. Suitable for business travellers and city weekends. High standard on newly decorated rooms. Great breakfast buffe. My favotite Scandic Hotel in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlJohan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    359
    250
    102
    48
See reviews for
267
243
30
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here after it being the only spot with rooms for a family in Gothenburg. The hotel is located very nicely in the heart of the city. It is a nice big building so you can't miss it. The lobby is ample and the staff was very friendly. We got a room on the 10th floor, room looked very nice... beautiful big windows, two single beds and a sofa bed. After the first: we'll is not bad.. Everything went downhill from that.. the beds were comfortable, but VERY small, the sofabed was also disappointing and not very comfortable. The rest of the room is best to look at.. at most. Their garbage cans you can barely fit a 12oz can and then a toothpick will overflow it. The bathroom -again- beautiful looking but not practical at all, it has this swinging glass semi door... that it's a pain to get it to stay so u spend a few minutes trying to keep it at an angle where you can fit in the shower and where the water won't spill onto the bathroom.. The breakfast is horrid as well.. Same thing happened when we walked into the breakfast room, it was a expansive room with what seemed tons of food options so we were excited.. then we walked up to the stations and realized that it was the same few things repeated over and over.. A great thing they do have is the option for allergy substitute for some things ( pancakes, milk, etc.. ) that was great to find. If you do not eat meat you are pretty out of luck or stuck to having bread and butter for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

After reading one review about this hotel I am wondering if they have reviewed the wrong hotel??
I stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel room and bathroom to be extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The room was a good size as was the bathroom. I had a great view from my window looking out over the city. You do need to use your room card to access the lift (but that is good security). There are plenty of lifts and I never had to wait long at all. Breakfast was busy, but there seemed to be plenty of seats and there was a good variety of food. I had dinner at the hotel one night I was there and the meal was excellent and the price was reasonable. I found the staff to be polite and efficient. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Not recommended, with the Economic room you get such a small room (13 sqm) with a too soft single bed plus a sofa bed-80 cms with a poor mattress just full of springs, you need to complain to have it replaced. One white quilt cover had a very visible blood stain. The hall was visible dirty, with the same wrapping papers during the 2 days we stayed, lint in different places and a cart with dirty towels and garbage parked in the hall day and night, a broken ice machine, the glass windows dirty, a bad impression of cleanliness and maintenance. Be careful with this hotel, we will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed her 2 weeks ago with my teenage daughter. We had a twin room on the top floor(13) which gave brilliant views.
the room was a good size, clean, fresh and comfortable. everything you needed, small table, kettle tea/coffee etc, storage, tv, en suite, very nice. Had no problems, staff helpful and welcoming.
Breakfast plentiful and lovely selection to suit everyone.
location is great, tram stop just outside, walking distance to many attractions.
would certainly go back to stay if i find myself there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishmotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in November. We had a high room with a wall of glass which is excellent for the views. The room was large with a large bathroom with walk in shower. Flat screen tv with movable arm as it was on the side wall because of the windows, couch and desk, Wifi which is accessed by entering room number into the help screen on the TV which issues you with a code to log on. Lift from the Foyer is activated by putting in your key card into a slot and then pressing the button for the floor your are going to. The breakfast room was busy as it was the weekend but it coped very well with seats in the bar area as well as duplicate buffet tables so no big crush for food. The only downside of the room was that the air conditioning that ran all the time as the windows do not open. Korsvägen Bus Station is a few minutes walk from the Hotel. This is the first stop for the Airport bus ( Flygbussen) which takes about twenty minutes. Buy the ticket online and flash it on the reader on the bus. The Driver will tell you how many trips you have left. Going back to the airport the bus stops at the stance behind the one that it arrives at. Though the shelter has the livery of the bus on the shelter and no doubt people with suitcases. The bus sits right outside the arrivals door at the airport. And drops you off at departures. Saves the price of a taxi as there is no rail link. The bus stops at every stop on the route so no chance of missing yours. Trams run along the main road to the center but walking takes about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Top Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocrawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Level Contributor
435 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Some years ago we frequently stayed at Opalen. This was the first time after its refurbishment. And this time we got a room on the 10th floor, facing north. Splendid view! Lots of windows. Bathroom renovated and very clean&bright. Bigger flat screen TV. Small desk and possibilities to work, or make tea&coffee. Better lighting. Bright wooden floors. Bar and restaurant more modern than before. Good breakfast. 5 min walk to Avenyn.

Room Tip: Try to get a room from 10th floor and up, and especially facing north or west with panoramic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing