We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #38 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a large hotel located in one of the newer parts of the city near to the stadium and sporting facilities. The location is fairly central and it is a short walk to most places. The airport bus stops nearby which is good. Additional positive features were that the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good. The bar area was good for a relaxing drink, although of course there are probably plenty of good places in Gothenburg to do that. The gym was small but had good equipment and was a nice space. The big negative was the very small room. I was glad that I was on my own because two people would be tripping over each other in such a small space. In summary it was just a very basic room and not at all worth the expensive price. Another issue is that being near to the sports facilities the hotel is popular with large groups of sports teams. Such groups can be loud and disruptive. During my stay the hotel was full of many such groups. In keeping with the 'basic' theme there was a temperature control in the room which I presume can make the room hot but it did not seem to make it cold. I would not want to be there on a hot day. At least the window in my room opened. There was free wifi but I had trouble getting it to work on some days of my 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runninguy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

I spent 7 nights at Scandic Opalen Hotel and I didn't like it at all.The room was very small, too small for two people, only one closet, no mini bar and safe, bathroom for one person and very cold in the room. Not very clean and too expensive. More 2 stars than 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hotel is situated near “Mässan” (The Göteborg’s Exposition Hall) and Ullevi, where you can watch football and other sport events. If you have luggage and don’t have a car, you have to take tram or taxi to reach the hotel.

The hotel belongs to the Scandic chain and all hotels in this chain offer more or less the same for the money. By my point of view, I think hotel Opalen it’s a little bit overpriced regarding to what you get. The rooms are absolutely “OK” but not more than that. So there are better hotels in Göteborg than this hotel. So I would like to rate it 3½ but it's not possible here. As it is more a four star than three star I rate it "4"

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Very nice hotel in center of the town. Its near to the ice hockey stadium Scandanavium. The theme park of Gothenburg is also close to it. The main street, Avnenyn is three blocks away. As for hotel, the staff is very friendly with smiling face. Facilities are excellent. Rooms are clean. Rooms had coffee machines, iron board and table, wifi. Rates are decent. Breakfast was included in room rent. Breakfast was good but there was not much variety. Every day the same stuff. So u get bored after 3 or 4 th day. But its was not bad. Bus stop and tram stop are nearby. Overall Excellent hotel to stay. I will recommend to anyone travelling to Gotheburg as tourist or business.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarangJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed for the weekend in Jan. Hotel is in a really good location for exploring the city. We had a family room and a double room. The double was tiny but we asked to change it and were given another family room without any problems. (For the small additional cost I would recommend booking the bigger room). Hotel was very nice, and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great - probably the best hotel breakfast buffet we have had in any Swedish hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OllieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

big hotel compared to others in the city.beautiful shiny hotel from outside.lobby is neatly done.walking distance to svenska mason-convention centre and other attractions.rooms are okay but the breakfast wasnt great as expected.also it gets busy if you are not early.nearby small mart for daily needs is helpful.internet is free.good connectivity by bus and trams. but you can walk easily the whole city except the archipelago

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Over the 3 weeks that i stayed in this hotel, there was very little about it that i didn't see. The staff that welcomed us were extremely polite and friendly. The rooms i would have to say weren't 4 star, more like 3 and a half. Very basic rooms, but comfy and with plenty of closet space.
The bar and restaurant were clean and quiet, staff very friendly. I never had one bad meal in the restaurant, but the menu is limited. The only real problems that i had is that the bar and restaurant were both closed on sundays, this just encouraged you to head out into town.
The gym/spa and jacuzzi were excellent facilities, one of the best facilities that i have seen. Although if i was there with my partner, the saunas are segregated (depends if you want a break or not)!
I only had the one complaint during my stay and that was the drilling and building work that went on into the evening.
Overall, i wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future. A friendly, clean and modern hotel only 5-10 minutes walk from the main strip.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitbyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#31 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Panorama
Quality Hotel Panorama
#37 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $108 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing