We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sound.”
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sound.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have been at several hotels in Göteborg, this is one of the better I visited. Good location, nice rooms, good bathrooms, friendly staff, good breakfast. Fair prices.

Make sure to take a room with a view on the outside, otherwise you will be breathing air from the patio when you open your window.

Room Tip: Make sure to take a room with a view on the outside, otherwise you will be breathing air from the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Va roligt att läsa att ni var nöjda med er vistelse här på Scandic Crown, det gläder oss.

Vi önskar er varmt välkomna åter nästa gång ni besöker Göteborg.

Med vänlig hälsning,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    395
    224
    91
    34
See reviews for
319
169
23
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a perfectly adequate hotel. It might be good value you if you are Swedish, but most likely not if you are from anywhere else in the world. It is very centrally located and the staff are both helpful and charming. It is a barn of a place, with a dining room that is like a school canteen and one central noisy area. Breakfast is good. Drink is very expensive in Sweden but if I am going to pay a lot of money for wine, could we please have something that is drinkable. The room was very disappointing and is one of those that I suspect are in the refurbishment programme, with tatty curtains and a TV that came out of the ark - but clean of course. This is Sweden.

Room Tip: Try to get one that has been refurbished. The older ones are very gloomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibeliusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för bra feedback från er vistelse här hos oss på Scandic Crown.

Det gläder oss att ni var nöjda med bl a vår frukost och att ni upplevde vår personal som charmig och hjälpsam. Jag tar till mig åsikten om bl a våra rum och framför till berörda.
Vi jobbar ständigt med att förbättra vårt hotell och dina åsikter har varit till stor hjälp.

Välkomna åter till oss nästa gång ni besöker Göteborg.

Hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel selected as one of few that accepted a pet dog albeit for extra 100 SEK per night.
Superior room was dated but large and could sleep 4 with double bed and double pull out bed.

Location close to train station, but not easy walking distance to restaurants in center.

On 7th floor the noise from the stadium across the road was clearly heard but fortunately ended before midnight.

Bathroom small but ok. Breakfast was usual Scandic standard and fine. Lunch menu a little restricted for my taste and not good enough quality for the price. Better to eat elsewhere.

Bar and restaurant closes on Sunday night, although beer and some small bottles of wine available at reception.

Overall, the impression was not worth the price so will try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOB777877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Super located in the middle of Gothenburg with easy walking access to most parts of city.
The rooms - at least on 5th floor - is very old style and really needs some upgrades/modernizations:

- 20" CRT Television
- Difficult to get a consistent temperature in the shower
- Internet is extremely bad working - at all times of day
- Food in the restaurant is mediocre - or maybe a bit below. Too pricey
- Ugly rooms with furnitures from the eighties

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowgly33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located a very convenient location in the centre of the city. The staff is friendly. But the rooms were a bit smaller. The breakfast spread was also good. When we had to leave early morning before breakfast time, the staff was kind enough to pack some of the stuff for us. The SPA was great. But they have no vegetarian options, so bad luck to people who are vegans.
Overall good stay at the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr_ri_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Nice and clean hotel in the centre of Gothenburg. Close to railway station, the Opera house, restaurants and shopping. Bus and trams nearby. Large breakfast buffet and good restaurant. Parking indoor if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapallo, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Goteborg and this was by far the most expensive hotel of our Scandinavian trip. It seems like hotels in Goteborg are quite expensive, nevertheless for the price we paid we expected more than a basic room with a very basic bathroom. We did enjoy the breakfast, which is served in the fancy hotel courtyard: the juice was so so, but the rest was good. Staff is very friendly and the location is ideal, close to the railway station and the city park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Property: Scandic Crown
Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing