We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good”
Review of Hotel Eggers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eggers
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

They do an "ok" job but the old claw foot tub with only a hand-held shower wand for me was just unacceptable. A very old hotel but not as modernized as it should be. Large rooms. Great location. Staff and breakfast was fine. Pricing is good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 291 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights because of its location and history. Big mistake. It was extremely expensive, but unfortunately, I did not have time to shop around and had a colleague staying there. First the positives. The hotel has lots of characters, and I was delighted by the huge room, antique furniture and persian rugs. While a bit dated, it did not bother me as the character more than made up for it. Until it was time to go to sleep. Despite being on the higher floor, the noise from the people, the trams and the street kept on going until 2 in the morning. I also think there must have been road works as the noise sounded like a pneumatic hammer. I finally fell asleep at around 2am, and got four full hours, until the traffic and noises started up again at 6am. Sound proofing windows these days is an easy task. When complaining, the manager used the excuse that the hotel is in a listed building. Absolute rubbish, proper insulation and sound proofing can be done even in listed buildings. The following night, got moved to an interior room. Much smaller, and not as nice, and in dire need of a makeover. But at least, it was quiet. Despite the lower standard of the room, no refunds or rebates. The manager says they do not differentiate between the rooms! This is not the service I would expect towards a diamond best western card holder. There are lots of hotels around this one, if you have the time, do a quick search and yourself a favour (If you want to sleep, that is).

Room Tip: If you get a room facing the inside, it will be small and dark but at least, you get some sleep as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip, looked for at hotel close by the train/bus station as I was arriving late and leaving very early for the airport. The hotel was a last minute booking, so I had no expectations but the location.

My cup of tea is the more modern, contemporary scandinavian style, but as the last reviewer wrote - the cigarette smell in the elevator - which has carpented walls - somewhat had a charm. Since I just barely checked in and out (and slept a couple of hours in between - in a comfortable bed) - I don´t have a deeper analysis to present, but my impression is that it is a bit overprised, compared to the finish here and there (and to a nearby hotel I stayed in on my way home). For instanse, the wooden floor in the room had lot of wear and tear, the TV-set was old and awfull, and when I looked at the small bathtub (sitting style, I think), I saw cracks. I got an explanation for that the following morning, as the shower is all old-style-heavy-metall, but where you attach it is definetly not - 70s-plastic-fantastic and not fitting at all. So it fell down - and I understood the cracks.

I think this hotell suits people that wants just this style, and the location by the train/bus-station. But there are other hotels whitin 1 minute walk for a better price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed in single room. Nice bathroom. Room was a bit too old-fashioned as for my liking. It is well maintained though.
In elevator still could feel smell of cigarette smoke, probably from times before smoke ban.
It is very central, close to central station as well as to shopping places.
Staff at the reception was very nice and helpful. In the lobby there are fruits and selection of coffe and teas for guests - nice touch.
Breakfast was very good in restaurant with view towards Drottning Torget - square.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kroliksweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here alone in late July on a puppy-viewing trip; Staff were quick, friendly and professional.

The hotel is a traditional square building with an open center, with solid, old-fashioned decor and furniture. I had a small single facing the courtyard. It was quiet; the bed was excellent, the hot water instant and consistent. The furnishings were attractive and solid - the easy chair was really comfortable, for example. The reading light gave plenty of light to read by. The bath towel were large, but rather thin and worn.

On a muggy day at the end of July the room was very stuffy, and there wasn't much air moving in the courtyard - and no air conditioning. Electric fans were available in reception, however.

The hotel is right next to the Central Train station, and very convenient to a large mall, Nordstan, and to a beautiful (free access) botanical garden with both rosarium, glass house and a lovely walk along the canal.

Don't choose this hotel if you are driving a car and have small children and their paraphenalia to manage, or lots of luggage. The hotel lists itself with "parking for a nominal fee" but the parking is in the garage of the nearest mall. It is a bit complicated to find by car from the hotel, and if you miss a turn you may be funneled on to a motorway and take an involuntary 15 minute drive. Once safely parked, it is a bit of a trek requiring a trip in a lift, a walk through part of the mall, and several streets to cross before you are back at the hotel. You are also advised to leave no valuables in the car and the glovebox open, as Gothenburg has a high rate of thefts from parked cars. On the plus side, there are a few free spaces right in front of the hotel where you can put the car while you check in; the desk personnel are happy to show you where you can leave your luggage - or let you put it in your room before you move the car - so you don't have to carry it all, and you can of course reverse the process when you check out.

Breakfast was a well-assorted scandinavian style buffet, in a rather gloomy high-ceilinged room - but you could also take your plate right out the door to cafe tables set out on the busy square.

I especially appreciated the fruit, water, tea and coffee set out in the lobby for guests to help themselves.

Room Tip: In summer, I would ask for an outside room, rather than one that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UIDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotell Eggers has a very good location. near to most everything, shoppingcentre, trams, busses, restaurants, pubs. It´s just a few steps from the trainstation.
The room we stayed in was clean and also a nice bathroom. But there were no big mirror in the room (only in the bathroom), no minibar, no saftybox and an old and very small TV. For being a 4 star hotel, these things are not acceptable.
The breakfast was OK, but not more. We had a good price when staying for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Good location right by the central station, with the big shopping mall one block away. To get there is complicated though. Rooms are old, no AC, old furniture, old equipment, ... I do assume there are better alternatives in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirri_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
Dorsia Hotel & Restaurant
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eggers

Address: 2-4 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#25 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $146 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eggers 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Eggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gothenburg
Best Western Eggers
Gothenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing