We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in the city”
Review of Hotel Eggers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Eggers
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotell Eggers has a very good location. near to most everything, shoppingcentre, trams, busses, restaurants, pubs. It´s just a few steps from the trainstation.
The room we stayed in was clean and also a nice bathroom. But there were no big mirror in the room (only in the bathroom), no minibar, no saftybox and an old and very small TV. For being a 4 star hotel, these things are not acceptable.
The breakfast was OK, but not more. We had a good price when staying for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eggers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Good location right by the central station, with the big shopping mall one block away. To get there is complicated though. Rooms are old, no AC, old furniture, old equipment, ... I do assume there are better alternatives in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chirri_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The third oldest hotel in Gohtenburg and the styling does show it.

The room is an odd shape (nearly square), very old architecture with old style furnishings.

Room did have a king size bed (but with two single quilts, instead of a king size quilt!), a writing desk, a thin (but tall) wardrobe, a TV (not flatscreen and with only 1 english channel, BBC Worldwide News) and a few chairs but even with very high ceilings the room was cramped.

Small on-suite bathroom (toilet, sink and shower, no bath) all in good of a standard and clean.

As usual with hotels, the internet connection was poor, it doesn't disconnect on you (I will tell you about that in another review on another Gothenburg hotel), but it is slow (it had issues with playing internet radio on low bandwidth setting for example).

Location is useful, next to central station, starbucks and nearby shopping mall.

Staff (receptionist) was helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: I opted for a room looking at the central court because of other reviews starting 'outside'...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thordom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I staid for one night at hotel Eggers in Gothenburg. It is located close to the train station and close to shopping areas for example the mall Nordstan. However the hotel is not worth the money, there are better places to find for the same price. The staff is nice and helpful. The rooms are furnished with old furniture and my room (single room) was quite spacious, it was on the second floor and was at the side to the backgarden. Thanks to that it was very quitet but not a nice view looking into another house, The bed seemed quite old too, not excellent sleeping quality. The room felt old and like it needs to be redecorated immediately. The bathroom with shower was ok but not nice.There was 1 small bottle of showercream, no bodylotion or anything extra, So bring your own products, The tv was old and not a flatscreen. However the breakfast was more than ok, they had yoghurt and berries (had been frozen) haselnuts and musli, fresh fruit and of course bread and 2 sorts of cheese, one quite good. I will not choose this hotel again not until it is redecorated.

Room Tip: I think there can be a bit noicy from the trams if you get a room on that side of the hotel.wich can...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kajo189868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is in the center of Gothenburg, nice and close to main trams and shops. The breakfast in the restaurant was typical - cold cuts, cereal, nothing really fantastic. I agree with the other reviewers about the shabby chic decor but I thought the restaurant decor was charming - much fancier than you would expect at a Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Bang in the centre of everything, the city has a superb network of buses & trams. I pity those roomed at the front but the courtyard area is very quiet. Breakfast was good with some tasty breads & all else you'd epect. It's a little shabby chic in parts, there is a hrand stairs at reception & the life could have been used in the Pyramids construction.

Room Tip: Get in the courtyard or you'll have to sleep with headphones.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed 5 days here and had a nice stay. Like most hotels in Sweden that we were at, the queen size bed is really 2 twins together. They had feather beds on them and I slept like a rock all week. My husband is fussier and he wanted a good old fashion "American" bed...common complaint from everyone who I met at this meeting. The rooms are quaint, no AC. TV is old not flat screen with limited channels...only SKY for English. They do serve breakfast ...usual fare...quite sufficient for me. Only negative is that they don't keep the eggs/bacon warm...they serve it so get it as soon as it they bring it out before it cools. Location is near all the major trams and Central Station. Never needed a cab. We also walked a lot and it isn't far from Nordstan, the largest mall in Scandinavia. Based on comments from people we knew over at the Radisson Blu across the street, we got a better deal and a hotel with a history...this is the 3rd oldest hotel in Sweden and site of where the Allies and Nazi's met .

Room Tip: ask for a room on the courtyard ...quiet side ...we slept with the windows open every night and neve...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
0.1 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#13 of 67 in Gothenburg
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eggers

Address: 2-4 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#25 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $173 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eggers 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gothenburg
Best Western Eggers
Gothenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing