We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Likeable Experience”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Likeable Experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel with a fabulous view of the busy Gota river from top floor rooms - I don't think any other hotel in Goteborg will offer a better view of the river. Contrary to some previous reviewers, I have found the selection of food at breakfast to be adequate, not extensive but OK for my liking. The bed felt very comfortable. The room was very quiet - not a single sound penetrated the room from outside. Coffee machine in the room, free of charge mineral water and a big-size flatscreen TV were a nice bonus. The reception staff was very efficient - the very attractive looking Swedish girls at the reception provided me with all information about Goteborg and supplied directions in a polite way with a smile - just looking at these fine girls and having small chat with them made my day!

On the slightly negative note, the hotel is a bit far off the city center. On the other hand, there is an area full of delicious restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel and a rather picturesque Haga district across a small channel nearby. Although my room was cosy and clean, there were big dark scratches in the middle of the floor - probably, left as a result of someone moving the bed.

All in all, I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were to visit Goteborg in future. The truly fabulous view of the river from the hotel will be my most lasting impression from Goteburg.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countstgermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Countstgermain,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed review. It's much appreciated!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the services of the staff and that you were satisfied with the room and the ameneties of the room.

As for the view of Göta River from the top floors I can only agree. The view is amazing and it's even better during the summer with all the boats during sunset. So now you have at least one reason to visit Gothenburg and our hotel once again.

I completely agree regarding the location as well. There are hotels located closer to the city center, but usually, the closer you get to the city center, the more noise from trams, buses and people you get. In other words, your sleep quality might be affected. And I can honestly say that our location is great if you want to have a wide selection of restaurants nearby with both Kungsgatan and Linnégatan within a 5 minute walk.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    294
    129
    31
    19
See reviews for
134
220
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Great staff, wonderful rooms, breakfast is not wonderful but I don't eat much in the morning so it was ok. I do not remember ever being in a hotel with such great staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YDF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Santos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service of our staff. If there is anything special you would like to have for breakfast, please contact the reception and we will talk to our head chef to work something out.

Thanks again for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you here again.


Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed in the hotel for three nights during a business trip. My job takes me around the world and I stay in many hotels of varying standards - I have seldom if ever experienced such pleasant and proffesional customer care as I did at the Riverton. On arrival the lady at reception ( Linda Strom I believe her name was ) ensured I had all I needed and took the time to explain a bit about the hotel location and the city . The staff in the restaurant were just as helpful and pleasant and on my third night when I unavoidably returned to the hotel five minutes after the restaurant closed they even re-opened the kitchen and produced a fabulous meal which was much appreciated . If you value the service you receive from a hotel and expect that little bit extra you cannot go wrong with Riverton . A.T.Larsen.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanlarsen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Mr. Larsen,

Thank you very much for your kind words, it's very appreciated!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially since you seem to be a frequent traveller with lots of experience from different hotels.

I will make sure that Linda receives some kind of reward for her nice service during your stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you here soon again!


Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The ownership doesn't seem to understand customer relations. Four times we reported a loud humming in the toilet and they promised to fix it 3 times, and it never was. An owner/manager refused any adjustment in our payment for disturbed sleep citing "hotel standard policy." Because of a mix-up with my travel agent we were charged for one night that we were not there even though there were other rooms available. This was also dismissed as "standard policy" although the hotel was technically correct.

Front desk staff were excellent--cheerful, knowledgable, and helpful but not empowered to make any decisons.
The rooms are clean, spare but appropriate. Of course, the plumbing left much to be desired and the glass door to the bathroom had a large crack. Free wi-fi was excellent. The location of the hotel is decent with a 15 minute walk to City center.

The ownership and management could use some training in customer service and realities of the hospitality business if they are to survive in a very competitive arena.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Sir and other visitors,

Due to circumstances beyond our control, regarding a room reservation for the “wrong” date among other issues “JanRog” made us understand very clearly that he was a very unhappy client before even leaving our front office for his room.

As regard to the noise described, we ourselves did try very hard to listen if we could hear the noise hoping to be able to locate and then to fix the problem. We have still not heard the noise but everyone can be absolutely reassured that we will fix whatever problem it might be if it appears again.

We do care very much about our customers and we do understand customer relations. However, this does not mean that we accept each and every demand for compensation from our clients.

We did try to compensate this customer for the disturbed night sleep but his expectation was too great for us, consequently our offer did not reach far enough and we regret that we have to accept that this customer is still very unhappy with us.


On behalf of the management,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The hotel is very central located with good parkingplaces both in garage and outside, which is very often not the case at hotels.
At the reception we got a warm welcoming smile and a friendly service, hence the receptionist Anna made us feel like V.I.P's. The design room had a view over what we expected and we welcome the ironopportunity as well as the cup of coffee we could make ourselves as there were fascilities for this in the room.
We took a drink before dinner in the sky bar, and also here we met a very positive and warm personell. I think her name was Johanna.
After a good night sleep ( very good thanks to the blindings), we had breakfast (that could have been slightly better) and at check out we were helped by an even friendlier woman named Frida who told us that check out was not until 12.00. Very nice service!

I strongly recommend this hotel and want to send a special thank to the staff who really made our weekend. (Congrats to the hotel direction - were do you find your employees??).
Mr and Mrs Åström

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ewa-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Åström,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you here soon again.

Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

I really enjoyed the rooms here (could use better AC). The complimentary breakfast is also good. The location is not good for older non walkers, but good if you are looking for a quiet street in Gothenburg (you will be 5 - 15 minutes walking distance away from major spots..)
The staff is also pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gtraveladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
Dear Gtraveladvisor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are currently looking at different solutions for the AC and we hope to find a system that works well with the Scandinavian weather. Hopefully we can begin installing a new system at the end of 2011, as a part of the larger renovation that will take place.

As for the "older non walkers", I completely agree. Luckily, the public transportation is very good and stops just outside the hotel. It takes you to all the major spots, like the Central Station, Liseberg amusement park, Nordstan Shopping mall and "The Avenue".

We hope to see you here once again for your next visit to Gothenburg!

Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel is ideally located in the center of Gothenburg, although the view isn't great (factory/harbor but no noise or interference whatsoever). The hotel rooms and reception are refurbished up to modern standards, but the halls and breakfast room are a bit outdated. The rooms are spacious and well equiped and the windows are practically soundproof. The bathroom is small but this is not a problem. Both are very clean, as is the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is good and offers a good variaty too . The beds are excellent and it's great that there are automatic blinds (which can be a necessity in summer when days are very long). Finally ther staff is very very friendly. We left early in the morning and they made us a packed breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRiverton, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Dear purpleladyLeuven,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you had such a great stay with us and that you were satisfied with close to everything.

I fully agree and the hallways will be renovated during this autumn/winter. Scheduled for 2011-2012 is an even bigger renovation which includes our breakfast restaurant, the lobby/reception, the relax lounge and the conference department. We will also build another two floors with rooms where the Sky bar and Restaurant is located today, which moves the Sky bar and Restaurant up to floor 14. Finally we will also renovate the rooms located at floor 8-11, which means that the entire hotel will be completely renovated in 2012.

We hope to see you here once again for your next visit to Gothenburg!

Kind regards,

Kristoffer Kinnunen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing