We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family stay at Riverton Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Family stay at Riverton Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

For our first trip to Goteborg (end of May 2014), we chose the Riverton due to the competitive prices and location close to the centre.
We were not disappointed and would be more than happy to stay there again when we next visit Sweden.

Good points:
Reception staff were always very helpful and, as is the case pretty much throught Sweden, spoke English perfectly.
All our requests were met in a courteous and professional way.

Wifi, while it never reached mega speeds, is adequate and allowed us to plan the each day ahead.

There is no mini-bar as such but our room had a small fridge containing free bottled water and some space for your own food/drinks.

Breakfast I found to be plentiful but I recommend getting there early as some of our favourite items tended to run out.

The location is excellent - just a short walk to the main transport hubs (Brunnsparken & central station) and the city centre.

There is a large ICA supermarket nearby if you need anything (or get tired of Swedish restaurant prices!). The local bus stop (Rosenlund) connects with the centre and also with the main ferry terminal to the North Archipelago.

Bad points:
As you will have read from other reviews, the area around the hotel is being spruced up. On some days this meant being woken up by loud noise and greeted by
a not-so-pleasant smell when leaving the hotel.
Obviously, this is a temporary scenario and not the hotel's fault so we were
not particularly displeased; however, I felt the hotel could have mitigated this by offering a discount or gift to its guests as a sign of goodwill.

If I had to be picky, some of the communal areas and corridors looked a bit dated and could do with some refurbishment. The room itself, however, was very clean.

All things considered, I would highly recommend staying at the Riverton.

Room Tip: I emailed the hotel prior to our stay to request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelFoucault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear TravelFoucault,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and for your feedback.

As you noticed during your stay, Gothenburg Council is currently carrying out an exciting regeneration project in our area with the main goal of bringing the city closer to the waterfront. The project is unfortunately out of our control and will affect the area we are in over the next couple of years. However, the majority of the ground work directly outside of the hotel will be finished by next summer, complete with a new tram line.

Due to the work carried out outside of the hotel, we are discounted compared to other hotels in the city. But we will definitely look into the idea of giving guests a gift to make their stay a little more comfortable.

Thanks again for your feedback and on behalf of the Riverton team; we hope to get the chance of welcoming you back to Gothenburg again to see the exciting transformations taking place!

All the best,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    269
    120
    28
    18
See reviews for
116
203
24
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family stayed in one of the Riverton's apartments. Even with the current construction going on outside, the Riverton did a very nice job of welcoming us, provided excellent, clean facilities, and an outstanding breakfast buffet. It is well organized and, for its quality, reasonably priced. It also is in a convenient location to central Gothenburg and the waterfront. The only thing we didn't like was the fitness gym, which is called Crudo, which is conveniently located near the hotel and has decent free weights and a few treadmills but is not suitable for the average fitness customer (it is geared toward martial arts training).

Room Tip: We liked our apartment on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDoug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear CDoug2014,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with the service given.

I am sorry to hear that the gym we normally recommend to our guests was not what you expected. We will take a closer look at the gyms we recommend in the future to ensure they are equipped for everyone to enjoy. We are currently preparing for a gym onsite and I can happily announce that it will be open for all of our guests to enjoy in October this year.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back to us in Gothenburg soon.

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A nice hotel with a good location and a very nice restaurant. The staff were very helpful with my travel arrangements, storing my luggage and let me use all their facilities after I had officially checked out - thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear mrjt1,
Thank you for generous review and for sharing it with others!

I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay, the service and facilities we offer and on behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon.

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Usually I stay at the Radisson in Gothenburg for business although they have been pushing their rates up higher and higher and its just not justified so we tried the Riverton this time.

Its June and its very hot, a room with no AC is not that great a place to be in. However teh windows do open, a small fan is provided and there are automatic shutters on the window to keep out the sunlight (A must for these long sunny evenings). As another reviewer said there is alot of road works around the hotel and finding it and the parking can be difficult.

I have had no problem with the wifi and its for free and you are able to log on with multiple devices,

I would say a lack of a gym or a pool is a minus. The skybar is very fancy but booked out for our stay but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby to eat, just a short walk away.

It seems to be busy and they are warning people not to go to breakfast at the same time. Slightly worried they cannot keep up with the demand but we were there early anyway so not an issue. Breakfast did not have such a large a choice as the Radisson or other hotels in Gothenburg but the coffee machine was great.

No room service or skybar on a sunday so be prepared to eat out.

Room Tip: apparently river views are popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear rahh,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver a high standard of service for all of our guests.

During your stay with us, there was a large amount of guests in every room due to a music festival in the city. As the festival is late into the night, we wanted to ensure our guests have a leisurely breakfast and wanted to make guests aware that the later slots in breakfast are likely to be busy on that particular weekend.

The City of Gothenburg is currently transforming our area bringing the city closer to the waterfront. The project is carried out in different stages and the construction work directly outside of the hotel will be finished in the end of June.
This has impacted the public car parking spaces in the area which is why we offer guests a secure garage for a fee. The City Of Gothenburg has now opened up extra spaces in the parking boat P-Arken to the public, which is anchored by the waterfront, a short stroll from the hotel. On P-Arken, the regular parking fees in Gothenburg apply.

Due to the great weather we have experienced in the last couple of weeks, which I understand you have noticed in the bedrooms, all bedrooms are supplied with fans and windows that can be opened. We are currently working on implementing A/C, however it is quite a project for a large hotel so this will be phased in gradually.

In September this year, our new gym will open and a pool is also in the hotels long term plan.
We hope next time you stay with us you can enjoy our new facilities.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will give us another chance if you plan to travel back to Gothenburg in the future!

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel for one night. The whole area around the hotel is currently being redone with road work etc. this isn't helping the hotel. It is actually so well hidden that even taxi drivers is having difficulties finding it.

Room rates was reasonable and booking wasn't crowded. How ever I then don't under stand why they put me in a room with a vies to their backyard instead of one on the many ones overlooking the harbour.

Rooms are old but very clean and everything is working well. The hotel had probably the best selection on label I have experienced in Scandinavia. Unfortunately in experienced that their wifi was unstable.

Breakfast was just as expected with large selection and good quality.

The hotel will get a revisit from my side to see if their service and intention of using their harbour location has changed....

PS don't expect to be able to be able to walk to down town Gothenburg as all the road work is making it impossible to be a pedestrian. In normal times I would say that the 1 km to the centre is a short walk away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karsten P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Karsten P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your impression of the hotel was impacted by the road works in the area. The City of Gothenburg is currently working on an exciting regeneration project bringing the city closer to the harbour which will completely transform this part of the city.

This will impact the areas outside of the hotel in different stages up until 2017; however, the current project that involves the area directly outside of the hotel will be completely finished by next summer.

If you have any preferences on where your room is located, I would advise to contact us directly prior to your arrival, we will always do our best to meet the requests of our guests
We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Riverton soon to see the exciting transformations taking place.

Warm Regards,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

It´s a very comfortable hotel close to restaurants and the fish market hall. We recommend you a visit at the old town "Haga". We recommend you to visit the hotels own restaurants at the top of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear PBoose,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our close proximity to the historic district of Haga and the fish market.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon!

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, Co.Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel Riverton in Gothenburg is Very good on value for money, location and customer service. Hotel rooms and breakfast are first class, Location of hotel is close to city centre. We paid about 2360 Kroner (£236stg) for a double room with breakfast for 3 nights. Note that a 3 day Gothenburg public transport ticket is about 150 Kroner which is about £15 and it covers you for all trams, buses and ferries out to the islands. Getting from Gothenburg city airport to city centre involves a walk from outside of airport building of about 500m to get the bus to take you to the tram -if you take bus from directly outside airport door it will cost more as its a different service. Do NOT miss the free City visits such as the big park with animals incl. seals, penguins and moose, also the viewpoint which overlooks the city near the old town area. The islands are a great visit and the ferries are free with the ticket above. For Gothenburg, note that prices of food, beer, spirits and wine esp. when eating out (or in bars/pubs) can be TWICE the price of the UK and Ireland. Note that drink is much cheaper in off licences but these are closed on Sundays and may shut as early as 3pm on Saturdays. But you can get beer in supermarkets (not wines and spirits). Some roadworks going on outside Hotel until mid summer 2014 but it does not affect your stay. Staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyeglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ballyeglish,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us in Gothenburg.
It sounds like you had a great visit to Gothenburg and the surrounding area! I am happy to read you also enjoyed our close proximity to the historic district of Haga, the views over the city from Skansen Krona and the city park, Slottsskogen.

Thanks again for such a great review and on behalf of the Riverton team; we hope to get the chance of welcoming you back to Gothenburg very soon!

Kind Regards,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing