We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to move around!”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Terracina, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easy to move around!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Walk distance from anywhere, nice staff, nice room, great breakfast and a lovely relax-area. Why not having sauna and jacuzzi for closing our visiting day?
Good choice if you are going to stay a couple of days for truistic reason.

Room Tip: From 7th floor up you'll have a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TheSoundOfSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear TheSoundofSunshine,

We are delighted to hear you had a good stay with us at Hotel Riverton and for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Our relaxation area with the Jacuzzi and Sauna is open every day from 10.00am - 10.00pm and if you wish access outside of these hours, a member of the Reception team can help you reserve it for you.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon,
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    281
    126
    29
    18
See reviews for
122
212
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Perfect stay @ perfect Place.. Nice restaurant with tremendous view. Service very good, food was excellent. The bar have relaxing environment and you don't want to leave..

Our room on 7th floor was in good size and bathroom nice and clean. Bed was soft and was really inviting...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Henrik B,

On behalf of all Hotel Riverton team we would like to thank you for your excellent review. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the services in our hotel and hope we will have a chance to welcome you in the near future again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
213 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I dont quite agree that this is a central hotel in Gothenburg as others have claimed. Its quite a walk from central station and from the closest busstop of the airport coaches. Its also not right in the city shopping area. But if you are here for the Gothenburg filmfestival then this is ideal since its close to the theatres at Järntorget. The room was spacious and clean there was even a small sofa. All designed in bright colours. A kettel makes it possible to make your own coffee or tea. There is a mini bar fridge with free waterbottles nothing else. Flat screen television with a wide range of international channels. Wifi is free and worked well. Bathroom had a shower no tub. There is a safe in the room, no charge. Breakfast served in a large room on second floor with windows towards the river. Good but not exceptional selection with all you may need. The bar, restaurant on top floor is worth a visit cause of the view but got very crowded friday night. Rooms have extremely thin walls you hear practically everything from the neighbouring room, this is a big minus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Riverton a few times on business, but this time was rather disappointing. I arrived on a Monday evening and the hotel wasn't that busy as I later discovered it was a Swedish bank holiday. I was given a very small compact single room with an equally small bathroom/wet room. However it had a huge TV which was very out of proportion for the size of the room. I rang for room service and was told that the restaurant was closed and there was none. The staff member who answered offered no alternatives or even suggested somewhere nearby or even to call for a delivery - I was dumbfounded by their attitude. Strange that there was no mention of this when booking with the hotel directly! The one redeeming factor is that breakfast offers a great selection of foods, but overall on this occasion I felt the stay was very poor value for money and will stay elsewhere next time. When checking out, I raised this again with the staff member who was very apologetic but did not offer anything by way of recompense.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Riverton is an average to good hotel with a central location between the south and north center. Close to all the main things of interest in Gothenburg, not least the old part of Gothenburg
"Haga". The hotel has from floor 9 and up some very hip suites. They are light and spacious with a splendid view of the harbor (you'll enjoy the sunset in summertime). BUT The Loo and bath is VERY special - you have no privacy! Showering is OK because the glass door will be covered by the steam. But going to the Loo can be a problem depending on the purpose of the visit!
Rooms on the lower floors are older, but Ok.
Parking can be a problem. In front of the hotel you have a number of public parkings. It's expensive, and during office hours difficult to get. The hotel has a private garage with limited space, and you have to climb 3 rows of stairs to get there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very good breakfast with the possibility of making special meals for kids.
Very helpful staff regarding everything we needed for our 1 year old daughter.
Nice rooms with sufficient cleaning and good TV with many channels to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Buus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Hans_Buus,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Riverton during you visit in Gothenburg and also for sharing your review with others.

We will be glad to have a chance to welcome you in the nearest future again to Hotel Riverton!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Riverton Hotel has comfortable beds and we had a good night sleep. The hotel and our room looked very good, a touch of luxury. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet tastet really good!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear tonehp,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Riverton for your visit to Gothenburg.
Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
994 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing