We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road...”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip and it was just one of the many Hotels that you put your head to rest and forget about the next morning. Nothing special, a smaller sized room, efficient but otherwise non-fancy bathroom, what else can I say? Had too many of those.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Hello and thanks for your review.
We're sorry to hear that you don't think we are more than mediocre, but we are constantly working to improve ourselves so your opinion is important to us. Only 2% of our rooms have no renovated bathrooms, the rest are designed with special glass from Italy.
We hope after all that you want to visit us again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 762 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

A decent hotel, some nice features, but what a high cost!
Still, it seems the going rate in Gothenburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-Ottawa-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review!
The summer is a peak period and therefor the rates are high, but as you say- in the whole city.
I really hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a nice time in Gothenburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in familyroom, size ok. Excellent queensize bed, and double sofabed. No A/C in the room means you need an open windows during summer time. Some traffic noise may be heard from the lower floors with open window.
Free wifi with excellent quality. Very good breakfast, a wide selection of hot and cold food, and everything fresh.
Location: By the docks, I guess like 15 mins or so to walk to central area like Avenyn.
If you travel by car make sure you includ reservation of parking when you book. Riverton has limited space for parking, and nearby parking is expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wullumt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for your review!
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, welcome back to us at Hotel Riverton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a hotel that scores well in all respects.

Nice comfortable room. The bed was very comfortable, a nice big (46" ?) flatscreen tv and a modern bathroom.
We stayed 2 adults and a kid so we had the sofa bed out. It made the room a bit crowded but workable.
Breakfast had a big selection of everything -fresh bread, cheese, meats, fruits, coffee and scored well with the whole family.

Location is walking distance from main shopping areas - 5-20 minutes walk.

Everything was nice and clean, service good and only complaint I can think of was that the room was very warm when we arrived.
All in all the place should be a safe bet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanna T, Front Office Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The first impression was not really nice, as the hotel has a rather boring location and entrance area. There is a free parking area right outsidethe reception, but all the spots where occupied during our stay. Be prepared to pay around SEK 15 per hour on a public parking area 100 meters away. We stayed in a family room, with an extra bed for our two kids. The rooms seems to be refurbished and the standard is good. There is a "sky-bar" at the upper floor. The breakfast was really good. It is a 15 min walk to the restaurant street "Avenuen" and 15 min drive the Liseberg amusement park.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank ratata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I found this hotel to be very good and safe. Excellent Breakfast buffet and professional staff. It is also easy to locate and prices are quite lower than other good hotels of its standard in Riga.

Room Tip: The room I used was in 4th floor and it was generally quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odhiambo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and welcome back to us at Riverton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 Night stay at the Riverton and was overall impressed with the Hotel.

Check In was Friendly & Professional.

My Room was situated on the 5Th Floor (Queen Deluxe Suite).

I was quite surprised by the size of the room, I would call it compact,but feel that if I had traveled with my Wife. Space would of been quite tight.

Cleanliness was, as expected to a very high Standard.

The Bathroom was exceptional. Glass Finish and a Fine Wet Room.

The Beds were comfortable but instead of a Queen Size Bed , I had 2 x Singles pushed together.
If I had traveled with my Wife this would have been very disappointing,especially for the Price Charged for the Room.

The Weather in Gothenburg was very warm so i did find it extremely strange that the Room had no Air Conditioning??
A fan was provided and you could Open the Window.
But as this is the 21st Century,I believe they should seriously look at this.

I decided to Dine in the Restaurant/Bar this Evening which is situated on the 12th Floor.
The view is Stunning and I highly recommend that if you stay at the Hotel to then do visit.

The Food is exceptional, Having eaten Rich Food over the past days ,I opted for the Angus Burger. I knew I was onto a Winner when the waiter asked how I would like the Burger cooked, and recommended Medium.

Service was excellent,attentive but not overly so.

Breakfast is served on the 1st Floor and was of a Good Standard with Good Choice of Items.

The Riverton is situated about 10 min walk to the Tram Station and Town Square,which has more that enough Bars & Eateries to choose from, the Stena Line Ferry Terminals are also only a Short walk away for Ferries to Kiel (Germany) & Friedickshavin(Denmark)

So overall, a Proffesional place to stay.
Couples if they get there rooms right.
Would i recommend Families. Not Really.

Room Tip: Go for Floor Five, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayboy806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 65 in Gothenburg
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#37 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 65 in Gothenburg
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $113 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing