We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel Vanilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vanilla
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, cozy hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Perfect hotel with genuine atmosphere. The location is spot on. Great area to stroll around and explore the city. Central but in a pretty quiet street. The room was really quiet, with windows to the back yard. It's spartan and small, but not too small. I don't have anything to complain about, but there's a small lack of wow-factor so that's why i "only" give it 4 points. Still this is a really cozy hotel and you won't regret your stay here. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Gothenburg. If you need an elevator you better look for something else though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
104
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of vacation.

Cute place. Check in was good, free wifi was good. We prepaid for the two nights as we had an early flight our last day. It was sometimes hard to find someone at the desk, but as this is more of a B&B and not a hotel, not too problematic.

Room was small but serviceable. Bathroom was the same. Liked having the windows open for the breeze. Our room overlooked the courtyard and there was some noise when the courtyard was full, but overnight was very quiet. There is no elevator and the curving staircase is challenging with luggage. Not sure if they had bell service or not.

Breakfast was good, but very busy. Had to miss it the second day due to the early flight.

This was a great location for walking around the city. We were dropped off and picked up by Volvo so didn't have to worry about a taxi to the airport, not sure how easy that would be without being prearranged.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It is really nice, calm and cozy hotel in the center of the Goteborg. Stuff is very helpful, rooms are clean, no unnecessary noise. Downstairs of the hotel there is nice cafey - very popular with locals and offering delicious sweets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights in this small but perfectly formed hotel. It is hard to find but worth it when you get there. It is very modern, extremely clean and has first rate facilities (except a lift). The staff are friendly and the breakfasts are delicious, served in a cafe where you can eat in the day and early evening. Beds are so comforatble that you don't want to get up in the morning and we had a room which was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Don't get a taxi form the Central Station as it is easily walkable if you have a map or one stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In the middle of the nicer of the shopping districts with easy access to everything. Staff is friendly, rooms are fine and breakfast is good. No complaints other than maybe the lack of A/C. Sleeping with an open window can be noisy, depending on weekday and what happens on the street.

We got an excellent summer deal and were happy with our stay.

We decided to use our Gothenburg City Card to park for free a few kilometers away, but there is cheap (but tight) parking available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August 2012 after a few nights in Stockholm. First impression on stepping into Kyrkogatan was "oh no! Back street dive". How wrong we were!! This turned out to be a really nice, comfortable hotel above a really nice friendly cafe, all run as part of the same operation. Our double and single rooms were small but comfortable, with excellent shower rooms (i.e. no bath, but that was fine by us). I was worried about street noise to start with, but the triple glazing cut that out pretty well. I would think rooms higher up or towards the back may be very quiet anyway. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were in the cafe, which was really nice, with a courtyard outside if you wanted some fresh air. We had dinner one night, at guest rates, although with a very limited menu, which did the job and was significantly cheaper that restaurants in the city. Free wi-fi was offered without asking. My only complaints were the A/C "hum" and the lack of a lift, but they are very minor points. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Probably go for a rear room if you want quiet, but no real complaints about ours anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Can't believe someone described this hotel as in a quiet side street! As it is closed to traffic during the day, the dustbin lorries and delivery traffic start arriving at 5 am. Not great if you are in one of the rooms overlooking the street. Also noisy in the late evening as it is a popular cut through for pedestrians on way home after night out - bit better on weekdays. (Yes, we should have complained but we put the first night's noise down to the Eurovision Song Contest win celebrations and thought the lorries would not come again the next morning - they did.) Learnt to keep our windows closed even though it was very warm. If you are in a room overlooking courtyard, this is used by cafe customers in the evenings. On arrival one is met by pools of oil on the pavement outside the cafe entrance and the hotel entrance - clearly people had walked through this. Indifferent receptionist - didn't know enough about her own city to advise on the not-to-be missed attractions. No coffee/tea tray in room. You can only get a coffee in the public cafe downstairs if they are open - they close at 6 pm on a Sunday, 9 pm other days. Bed not great and dust rained down on us when we pulled stored suitcase down from top of wardrobe. I have never heard by husband describe a hotel as a bit of a dive before. On the positive side, breakfast was very good and the staff in the cafe were lovely. We loved Gothenburg and the location of the hotel was good but we would never go back and could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't have room overlooking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanilla

Property: Hotel Vanilla
Address: 38 Kyrkogatan, Gothenburg 411 15, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vanilla 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing