We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel Vanilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vanilla
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A nice little hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In the middle of the nicer of the shopping districts with easy access to everything. Staff is friendly, rooms are fine and breakfast is good. No complaints other than maybe the lack of A/C. Sleeping with an open window can be noisy, depending on weekday and what happens on the street.

We got an excellent summer deal and were happy with our stay.

We decided to use our Gothenburg City Card to park for free a few kilometers away, but there is cheap (but tight) parking available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
101
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in August 2012 after a few nights in Stockholm. First impression on stepping into Kyrkogatan was "oh no! Back street dive". How wrong we were!! This turned out to be a really nice, comfortable hotel above a really nice friendly cafe, all run as part of the same operation. Our double and single rooms were small but comfortable, with excellent shower rooms (i.e. no bath, but that was fine by us). I was worried about street noise to start with, but the triple glazing cut that out pretty well. I would think rooms higher up or towards the back may be very quiet anyway. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were in the cafe, which was really nice, with a courtyard outside if you wanted some fresh air. We had dinner one night, at guest rates, although with a very limited menu, which did the job and was significantly cheaper that restaurants in the city. Free wi-fi was offered without asking. My only complaints were the A/C "hum" and the lack of a lift, but they are very minor points. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Probably go for a rear room if you want quiet, but no real complaints about ours anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Can't believe someone described this hotel as in a quiet side street! As it is closed to traffic during the day, the dustbin lorries and delivery traffic start arriving at 5 am. Not great if you are in one of the rooms overlooking the street. Also noisy in the late evening as it is a popular cut through for pedestrians on way home after night out - bit better on weekdays. (Yes, we should have complained but we put the first night's noise down to the Eurovision Song Contest win celebrations and thought the lorries would not come again the next morning - they did.) Learnt to keep our windows closed even though it was very warm. If you are in a room overlooking courtyard, this is used by cafe customers in the evenings. On arrival one is met by pools of oil on the pavement outside the cafe entrance and the hotel entrance - clearly people had walked through this. Indifferent receptionist - didn't know enough about her own city to advise on the not-to-be missed attractions. No coffee/tea tray in room. You can only get a coffee in the public cafe downstairs if they are open - they close at 6 pm on a Sunday, 9 pm other days. Bed not great and dust rained down on us when we pulled stored suitcase down from top of wardrobe. I have never heard by husband describe a hotel as a bit of a dive before. On the positive side, breakfast was very good and the staff in the cafe were lovely. We loved Gothenburg and the location of the hotel was good but we would never go back and could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't have room overlooking street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

With its warm and welcoming staff, the Hotel Vanilj really impressed us during our three-night stay in Gothenburg. Our room was, by European standards, very spacious, with a very comfortable bed and an enormous bathroom. The hotel is located in a great area, with easy access to shops, pubs, and restaurants clustered around Kungsportsplatsen and the central part of the city. Despite being so close to everything, and despite the fact that our window opened up onto the street, noise wasn't really an issue for us. Breakfast at the attached Cafe Vanilj was outstanding: assorted breads and cereals, hot scrambled eggs and bacon, good coffee and juice, and various fresh fruits. The hotel also has a complimentary laptop it can loan to travelers---which was a real bonus since we were traveling for three weeks without a computer. It was nice to be able to check in briefly with the world before going back off the grid. (And an additional tip: the chocolate cake at Café Vanilj was heavenly. We had a slice two days in a row as an afternoon snack, and it was delicious.)

Overall, this hotel is an excellent value---comfortable rooms, a great breakfast, a friendly and helpful staff, and a wonderful location. We would highly recommend Vanilj to anyone headed to Gothenburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were told that Gothenburg was a relatively small city with a walkable urban centre, so our intention was to find a hotel that would allow us to walk to most places. It turns out that Hotel Vanilj was the perfect choice. It is placed right next to the city's cathedral, and very close to several of the most popular shopping streets and restaurants in Gothenburg. In terms of location, you would be hard-pressed to find a better hotel.

The hotel itself will not let you down. It is rather small: apparently it has a total of 32 rooms, but it felt even smaller. The rooms are slightly larger than the average for hotels in this price range, and they are beautifully decorated with classic Scandinavian simplicity. The hotel's breakfast deserves a special mention: it was truly outstanding. It is a relatively simple free buffet, with freshly-baked bread of different kinds, cheese, charcuterie, yogurt, sour cream, bacon, pancakes, scrambled eggs.... Although it sounds unremarkable, it is the quality of all the ingredients that makes it shine. It is not surprising that the hotel's dining area doubles as a popular cafeteria/bakery.

Oh! And if the location, comfort, style and breakfast are not enough to win you over, then the service definitely will. Over the 4 days we stayed at Hotel Vanilj, we dealt with around 6 or 7 of the hotel staff, from reception workers to waitresses. All of them were relatively young girls, and we were honestly surprised by how helpful and passionate they were. The perfect service is just the icing on the cake of a tremendously good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a cute hotel, nice and clean, right in the very middle of Gothenburg. You have a short walk to the Opera House/the river. Shopping is right outside. The hotel also has a great café with lots of varieties, both small deli food or sweet pie. That's great!
However the rooms were very small and very hot. No air condition! High stairs up to the rooms so just forget it if you are mobility impaired! When we arrived at one o'clock p.m. we were told that one room (we were two couples and had booked two rooms) wasn't available until three o'clock p.m. just when our Opera show started which made us forced to dress up in one room the four of us! Awkward! To say the least! But we had to leave the rooms at noon next day and it was way from full so I have a hard time understand why it was so impossible to give us two cleaned rooms before three o'clock p.m. Parking was charged (unusual in Sweden) and it was just about room enough for the car to go through the gateway and to park in the VERY narrow place!
In the morning it was horribly noisy from 6 o'clock so you'd better be an early bird!
The breakfast food ran out over and over again. The bread was finished, the tea water was cold a.s.o. Kind of irritating! Only one person seemed to be working and boy, she was working! The other girl must have been a trainee? Over all, not at all as sweet as it looks on pictures but yet kind of okay mostly because of its location and the very nice café!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, ask for a room with a garden view and NOT at the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiffipapiljotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A great location. Clean room, nice bathroom. Great breakfast in a nice cafeplace. We would go here again if we stay over night in Gothenburg!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonziSwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#29 of 67 in Gothenburg
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#55 of 67 in Gothenburg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanilla

Property: Hotel Vanilla
Address: 38 Kyrkogatan, Gothenburg 411 15, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vanilla 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing