We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but incredibly slow”
Review of Hotel Vanilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vanilla
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a cute hotel, nice and clean, right in the very middle of Gothenburg. You have a short walk to the Opera House/the river. Shopping is right outside. The hotel also has a great café with lots of varieties, both small deli food or sweet pie. That's great!
However the rooms were very small and very hot. No air condition! High stairs up to the rooms so just forget it if you are mobility impaired! When we arrived at one o'clock p.m. we were told that one room (we were two couples and had booked two rooms) wasn't available until three o'clock p.m. just when our Opera show started which made us forced to dress up in one room the four of us! Awkward! To say the least! But we had to leave the rooms at noon next day and it was way from full so I have a hard time understand why it was so impossible to give us two cleaned rooms before three o'clock p.m. Parking was charged (unusual in Sweden) and it was just about room enough for the car to go through the gateway and to park in the VERY narrow place!
In the morning it was horribly noisy from 6 o'clock so you'd better be an early bird!
The breakfast food ran out over and over again. The bread was finished, the tea water was cold a.s.o. Kind of irritating! Only one person seemed to be working and boy, she was working! The other girl must have been a trainee? Over all, not at all as sweet as it looks on pictures but yet kind of okay mostly because of its location and the very nice café!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, ask for a room with a garden view and NOT at the street!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiffipapiljotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vanilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 214 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

A great location. Clean room, nice bathroom. Great breakfast in a nice cafeplace. We would go here again if we stay over night in Gothenburg!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonziSwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is on a quiet side street in the heart of Gothenburg. Everything is within easy walking distance. The rooms are clean and modern and it's so quiet you're guaranteed a great night's sleep. There are about 15 rooms, all of them above Cafe Vanilja, a popular haunt with locals and not surprising when you see the food. Scrumptious fresh swedish linseed bread and home made salads. The breakfast is included in the price and is served here. You eat as much as you want and they have cereals, yoghurt, eggs, ham,cheese. The staff are super friendly and there is a courtyard area enclosed which I imagine is a lovely place to eat breakfast in spring or summer - we went in November. We took our 17 month old daughter, and can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, it overlooked the side street but it's full of hairdresses shops so after h...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was a lovely, clean hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. We arrived early to check-in and were given a room straight away. The hotel is very centrally located and easy to find on arrival. We got the bus from Landvetter airport and the bus driver told us which stop to get off - it was across the road and up to blocks from there. The cafe downstairs serves great pastries and coffee, and breakfast was fantastic. There was free wifi also within the hotel.

We only stayed one night and then on our return to Gothenburg stayed in the Clarion Odin which was good too but definitely not as convenient a location as this hotel.

I would definitely stay here again and have no problems recommending it to others.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and it was a good size although slightly noisy with window open as it overlooked t...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here for one night, I was impressed with the central location and friendly staff. The hotel is located very close to the centre and room was nicely decorated, only complaint from my husband was the lack of a kettle!

The staff were very accomodating and when they didn't know the answers they made every effort to find out, they even printed us the bus times for getting back to the airport (handily only 5 minute walk from tram stop which also has direct airport buses taking 25 mins).

Breakfast was nice, reasonable selection of meats, cheeses, cereals & coffee etc. Muesli was very tasty! There was also a limited selection of cooked items such as scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1983Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel has tons of charm, each room is individually decorated and bears the name of a herb or a plant--such an idyllic touch!--and the breakfast buffet is generous and very very good. Hotel Vanilj is located right in the middle of the shopping centre of Gothenburg,with only a few minutes' walk to practically everywhere. However, if you have a car on the large side, I would not use the hotel's parking facilities as the entrance is extremely narrow, even for a highly experienced driver.I would recommend using a major parking house (City Park) just a few blocks away.The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room clean and with a good quality bed.The hotel has a cafe open to the public during daytime and judged by the constant flow of customers it is not only the hitel guests' breakfast that tickle the taste buds!!
One does have to scale one flight of stairs to reach the reception and the rooms are from that level and up,and as there is no lift it is not very suited for people with trouble walking. Otherwise: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hei019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Even with sat nav our arrival by car was "interesting" and it took courage to drive down the pedestrian precinct. And with the hotel entryphone system broken accessing the hotel - eventually through the coffee shop - was a bit fraught. But our room on the top floor was very smart, clean and comfortable and reached via an attractive passageway. With no aircon we needed to open a window (onto a narrow and therefore fairly noisy street) and for some people this could have been difficult. The windows were recessed a long way. The buffet breakfast was in the coffee shop and was just a little disappointing with a poor selection of bread and pastries, and the fresh fruit still frozen. Leaving the car park was a challenge with so little space to manoeuvre. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Given Swedish prices I suppose £130 for the two of us was fair value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanilla

Address: 38 Kyrkogatan, Gothenburg 411 15, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $113 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vanilla 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing