We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #212 of 1,259 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the center of town. Food and value is excellent. Service friendly if not perfect. The athmosphere is a little boring though it's decorated rather dull.
2 reviews
“very good”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

very exellent food. frendly and very professional chef. would go there any time again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coxrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    29
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service, moderate prices”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Great dinner with mouth watering flavours, interesting menu, we'll definitely come back soon! They have a good variety of vegetarian dishes too. You get very good food for your money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anniqam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good food, but not very welcoming...”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I've been there a few times for lunch (it's not what you would consider a dinner restaurant). They just got a great review in our local newspaper and the food really is good.

But the owners just seem to make their utmost to make you feel uncomfortable. If you go, make sure you fill the table or else their look of disappointment of seeing empty seats at your table will show as contempt!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food. Reasonable prices.”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

As I live nearby I´ve been there perhaps 6-7 times the last year. Sometimes myself, sometimes with family and one time with collegues.

The service is good, if not perfect. Friendly staff.
The prices are reasonable. Not the lowest but not very high either.
The atmosphere, meaning chairs, tables, decorations on the walls etc are frankly rather boring.

However the food is excellent (especially compared to the price).

The webiste is of course in Swedish, but has a Google translate button (and we all know how good they are hrrm).

Open (sep 2011) mon-fri 11-15
mon-thur: 16 - 22, fri: 16 - 23, sat: 12 - 23, sun: 12 - 22

So it's not the place to hang out for a beer late night. You come there for the food. (And the nepalese beer, Gurkha, they have is not that good. Better order the Indian one, Cobra.)

If you are into beer there´s another restaurant, Ölrepubliken (the beer republic), half a block away from Himalaya that specialices in having a lot of different kinds of beer (over 200 I think they boast), but I digress. That's a review for another day.

As I often walk my dog in the park outside I see that Himalaya seldom is full (probably easy to get a table). Given the superb food I would speculate that this is because it's three blocks away from a main street. People don't find it.

This even though it lies a block away from Gothenburgs oldest house, Kronhuset, that has a couple of shops (ceramics, glass etc) next to it, the so called Kronhusbodarna.
Kronhuset and Kronhusbodarna is a place the casual tourist probably would visit anyway. It´s in all the broschures and such.
(When you've visited Kronhuset you probably would walk back to main street not a block further out into the unknown.)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing