We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic place overlooking the bay and ships”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Novotel is a pleasant place to stay if you have a car. It's on the bay overlooking the ships traffic and the areas around for a walk or jog along the water is perfect after a days work. The restaurant don't update its menu too often so plan your dinner elsewhere now and then.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the water a must
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 627 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for five nights on a business trip. It was a pleasant stay, and the hotel and facilities all good.
The room is spacious and included a sofa and sufficiently sized desk area, and has good signal free Wifi, and a safe large enough for a large laptop. Also had an ironing board, iron and hairdrier should you need it. The only minor downsides for me - the furniture style was modern, the bathroom was sufficient, clean and all working though a little dated, and the TV had only one channel in English.
The restaurant and bar were both very good - nicely decorated, good food and good service (and a nice view over the river and to the suspension bridge), and busy enough but though the hotel was fully booked, never queues of too crowded either for breakfast or in the evening. Also I never had to wait long for a lift or at reception.
And is very handy for the motorway and has a car park with plenty of spaces.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardshipPosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is our first choice in Goteborg. Excellent surroundings , atmosphere, and communication with the city center. Service far beyond expectations is topping our experience.
And yes, we are coming back again, with friends !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oistein_brodal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Novotel is located about 3 km from downtown Gothenborg but close to the harbour area. The rooms are quite big and modern decorated. There is no minibar and no pay per view in the room. Ask for a room with sea view if not you possibly get a view to the back of the hotel. The restaurant is very good with good selection of mainly international dishes. Parking and WiFi is free.

Room Tip: Ask for view to the sea (harbour)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel has a good location at the harbor, but it's about 10 minutes with the tram to the city centre. The room was large with the possibility to make tea or coffee and even one German television transmitter.
The breakfast was great and the breakfast room has a beautiful view over the harbor.
We were very surprised when we found out that the parking place for the rental car was for free. In other Swedish cities, we paid up to 250 SEK per night.

-> I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karithana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located outside Gothenburg, but good public transportation nearby. Good beds and there was plenty of room for 4 people in the room. Good food in hotel restaurant, but a bit expensive. TV with X-Box for the kids was very popular. Free parking a big plus!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenche B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is from a price-quality point of view perfectly acceptable. The rooms are quite large by Scandanavian standards and the breakfast is also good. The main problem is the location significantly away from the city centre - in my opinion not really within walking distance. Otherwise a good alternative for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,794 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg

Address: Klippan 1, Gothenburg 414 51, Sweden (Formerly Novotel Goteborg)
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#22 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $124 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Goteborg Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Goteborg
Novotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing